lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Fri, 08 Aug 2014 16:23:09 +0200
From:	Philipp Zabel <p.zabel@...gutronix.de>
To:	Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@...aro.org>
Cc:	Maxime Ripard <maxime.ripard@...e-electrons.com>,
	Houcheng Lin <houcheng@...il.com>,
	Alexandre Courbot <gnurou@...il.com>,
	Grant Likely <grant.likely@...aro.org>,
	Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
	Dmitry Eremin-Solenikov <dbaryshkov@...il.com>,
	David Woodhouse <dwmw2@...radead.org>,
	Stephen Gallimore <stephen.gallimore@...com>,
	Srinivas KANDAGATLA <srinivas.kandagatla@...com>,
	Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@...aro.org>, sre@...nel.org,
	"linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
	"devicetree@...r.kernel.org" <devicetree@...r.kernel.org>,
	"linux-doc@...r.kernel.org" <linux-doc@...r.kernel.org>,
	Vikas Sajjan <vikas.sajjan@...sung.com>,
	linux-samsung-soc <linux-samsung-soc@...r.kernel.org>,
	"linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org" 
	<linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>
Subject: Re: [RFC PATCH v3] reset: Add a defer reset object to send board
 specific reset

Am Dienstag, den 08.07.2014, 11:38 +0200 schrieb Linus Walleij:
> On Tue, Jul 8, 2014 at 10:05 AM, Maxime Ripard
> <maxime.ripard@...e-electrons.com> wrote:
> > On Tue, Jul 08, 2014 at 09:52:03AM +0200, Linus Walleij wrote:
> >> On Wed, Jun 18, 2014 at 3:37 PM, Houcheng Lin <houcheng@...il.com> wrote:
> >>
> >> > The Problem
> >> > -----------
> >> > The reset signal on a hardware board is send either:
> >> >     - during machine initialization
> >> >     - during bus master's initialization
> >>
> >> I just thought about this a bit, since there isn't already a generic GPIO
> >> reset driver, just call this drivers/reset/reset-gpio.c and make the
> >> ability to deferral just a configuration detail of the GPIO reset driver.
> >
> > Philipp has been working on one for quite some time. See
> > http://www.spinics.net/lists/arm-kernel/msg321927.html
> >
> > However, it seems to progress slowly, and we don't seem to be able to
> > reach a consensus here.

Mostly because Maxime and I seem to have a completely different opinion
and nobody else argued one way or the other.

> > If you ask me, having to set a few extra properties like this just
> > advocates for a regular reset driver and DT node for the reset GPIO,
> > but I'm pretty sure Philipp will feel otherwise :)
> 
> Hm haha yeah let's fight it out :-)
> 
> This is not my subsystem so I'm getting some popcorn.

Sorry about missing this earlier, I hope the popcorn is not stale.

I think a reset that needs to be released before a fixed device appears
on the bus, should be handled by the bus driver. The reset framework
could be made to help with that, but I don't think a separate entity
that scans the whole device tree itself is the right solution.

regards
Philipp

--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists