lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Mon, 22 Sep 2014 21:48:41 +0200
From:	Pavel Machek <pavel@....cz>
To:	Hanjun Guo <hanjun.guo@...aro.org>
Cc:	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
	Olof Johansson <olof@...om.net>,
	Grant Likely <grant.likely@...aro.org>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>,
	Graeme Gregory <graeme.gregory@...aro.org>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
	Sudeep Holla <Sudeep.Holla@....com>,
	Jon Masters <jcm@...hat.com>,
	Jason Cooper <jason@...edaemon.net>,
	Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@....com>,
	Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@...gle.com>,
	Daniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@...aro.org>,
	Mark Brown <broonie@...nel.org>, Rob Herring <robh@...nel.org>,
	Robert Richter <rric@...nel.org>,
	Lv Zheng <lv.zheng@...el.com>,
	Robert Moore <robert.moore@...el.com>,
	Lorenzo Pieralisi <Lorenzo.Pieralisi@....com>,
	Liviu Dudau <Liviu.Dudau@....com>,
	Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@...radead.org>,
	Charles.Garcia-Tobin@....com, linux-acpi@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
	linaro-acpi@...ts.linaro.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v4 18/18] Documentation: ACPI for ARM64

On Fri 2014-09-12 22:00:16, Hanjun Guo wrote:
> From: Graeme Gregory <graeme.gregory@...aro.org>
> 
> Add documentation for the guidelines of how to use ACPI
> on ARM64.

> +No code shall be accepted into the kernel unless it complies with the released
> +standards from UEFI ASWG. If there are features missing from ACPI to make it
> +function on a platform, ECRs should be submitted to ASWG and go through the
> +approval process.

Surely this should be narrowed down somehow? Or is reading all the
released standards from ASWG mandatory before patching the kernel now?

Spelling out wtf ECR is would be nice, too.

And if you expect all kernel contributors to comply with your
favourite standards, you should put an URL where the standards can be
downloaded here.

									Pavel
-- 
(english) http://www.livejournal.com/~pavelmachek
(cesky, pictures) http://atrey.karlin.mff.cuni.cz/~pavel/picture/horses/blog.html
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists