lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Mon, 6 Oct 2014 12:13:51 +0200
From:	Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@...il.com>
To:	Boris Brezillon <boris.brezillon@...e-electrons.com>
Cc:	David Airlie <airlied@...ux.ie>, dri-devel@...ts.freedesktop.org,
	Nicolas Ferre <nicolas.ferre@...el.com>,
	Jean-Christophe Plagniol-Villard <plagnioj@...osoft.com>,
	Alexandre Belloni <alexandre.belloni@...e-electrons.com>,
	Andrew Victor <linux@...im.org.za>,
	Samuel Ortiz <sameo@...ux.intel.com>,
	Lee Jones <lee.jones@...aro.org>, linux-pwm@...r.kernel.org,
	Rob Clark <robdclark@...il.com>,
	linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
	Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
	Pawel Moll <pawel.moll@....com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
	Ian Campbell <ijc+devicetree@...lion.org.uk>,
	Kumar Gala <galak@...eaurora.org>, devicetree@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, Mark Yao <mark.yao@...k-chips.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v7 04/11] pwm: add DT bindings documentation for
 atmel-hlcdc-pwm driver

On Wed, Oct 01, 2014 at 04:53:01PM +0200, Boris Brezillon wrote:
> From: Boris BREZILLON <boris.brezillon@...e-electrons.com>
> 
> The HLCDC IP available in some Atmel SoCs (i.e. sam9x5i.e. at91sam9n12,
> at91sam9x5 family or sama5d3 family) provide a PWM device.
> 
> The DT bindings used for this PWM device is following the default 3 cells
> bindings described in Documentation/devicetree/bindings/pwm/pwm.txt.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Boris Brezillon <boris.brezillon@...e-electrons.com>
> ---
>  .../devicetree/bindings/pwm/atmel-hlcdc-pwm.txt    | 55 ++++++++++++++++++++++
>  1 file changed, 55 insertions(+)
>  create mode 100644 Documentation/devicetree/bindings/pwm/atmel-hlcdc-pwm.txt
> 
> diff --git a/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/pwm/atmel-hlcdc-pwm.txt b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/pwm/atmel-hlcdc-pwm.txt
> new file mode 100644
> index 0000000..86ad3e2
> --- /dev/null
> +++ b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/pwm/atmel-hlcdc-pwm.txt
> @@ -0,0 +1,55 @@
> +Device-Tree bindings for Atmel's HLCDC (High LCD Controller) PWM driver
> +
> +The Atmel HLCDC PWM is subdevice of the HLCDC MFD device.
> +See ../mfd/atmel-hlcdc.txt for more details.
> +
> +Required properties:
> + - compatible: value should be one of the following:
> +   "atmel,hlcdc-pwm"
> + - pinctr-names: the pin control state names. Should contain "default".
> + - pinctrl-0: should contain the pinctrl states described by pinctrl
> +   default.
> + - #pwm-cells: should be set to 3. This PWM chip use the default 3 cells
> +   bindings defined in Documentation/devicetree/bindings/pwm/pwm.txt.
> +   The first cell encodes the PWM id (0 is the only acceptable value here,
> +   because the chip only provide one PWM).
> +   The second cell encodes the PWM period in nanoseconds.
> +   The third cell encodes the PWM flags (the only supported flag is
> +   PWM_POLARITY_INVERTED)

Given that this already refers to the default 3 cells binding it doesn't
need to repeat part of the contents of pwm.txt.

With that fixed and assuming you'd like this to be merged via the same
tree that the DRM and or MFD driver is, this patch:

Acked-by: Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@...il.com>

If you'd prefer this to go through the PWM tree just let me know.

Thierry

Content of type "application/pgp-signature" skipped

Powered by blists - more mailing lists