lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Mon, 06 Oct 2014 19:54:05 +0400
From:	Andrey Ryabinin <a.ryabinin@...sung.com>
To:	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Cc:	Andrey Ryabinin <a.ryabinin@...sung.com>,
	Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@...gle.com>,
	Konstantin Serebryany <kcc@...gle.com>,
	Dmitry Chernenkov <dmitryc@...gle.com>,
	Andrey Konovalov <adech.fo@...il.com>,
	Yuri Gribov <tetra2005@...il.com>,
	Konstantin Khlebnikov <koct9i@...il.com>,
	Sasha Levin <sasha.levin@...cle.com>,
	Christoph Lameter <cl@...ux.com>,
	Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@....com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...el.com>,
	Andi Kleen <andi@...stfloor.org>,
	Vegard Nossum <vegard.nossum@...il.com>,
	"H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>, Dave Jones <davej@...hat.com>,
	x86@...nel.org, linux-mm@...ck.org,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>
Subject: [PATCH v4 11/13] kmemleak: disable kasan instrumentation for kmemleak

kmalloc internally round up allocation size, and kmemleak
uses rounded up size as object's size. This makes kasan
to complain while kmemleak scans memory or calculates of object's
checksum. The simplest solution here is to disable kasan.

Signed-off-by: Andrey Ryabinin <a.ryabinin@...sung.com>
---
 mm/kmemleak.c | 6 ++++++
 1 file changed, 6 insertions(+)

diff --git a/mm/kmemleak.c b/mm/kmemleak.c
index 3cda50c..9bda1b3 100644
--- a/mm/kmemleak.c
+++ b/mm/kmemleak.c
@@ -98,6 +98,7 @@
 #include <asm/processor.h>
 #include <linux/atomic.h>
 
+#include <linux/kasan.h>
 #include <linux/kmemcheck.h>
 #include <linux/kmemleak.h>
 #include <linux/memory_hotplug.h>
@@ -1113,7 +1114,10 @@ static bool update_checksum(struct kmemleak_object *object)
 	if (!kmemcheck_is_obj_initialized(object->pointer, object->size))
 		return false;
 
+	kasan_disable_local();
 	object->checksum = crc32(0, (void *)object->pointer, object->size);
+	kasan_enable_local();
+
 	return object->checksum != old_csum;
 }
 
@@ -1164,7 +1168,9 @@ static void scan_block(void *_start, void *_end,
 						  BYTES_PER_POINTER))
 			continue;
 
+		kasan_disable_local();
 		pointer = *ptr;
+		kasan_enable_local();
 
 		object = find_and_get_object(pointer, 1);
 		if (!object)
-- 
2.1.2

--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists