lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Thu, 16 Oct 2014 01:46:44 +0600
From:	"Alexander E. Patrakov" <patrakov@...il.com>
To:	Anatol Pomozov <anatol.pomozov@...il.com>,
	Tom Gundersen <teg@...m.no>
CC:	One Thousand Gnomes <gnomes@...rguk.ukuu.org.uk>,
	Takashi Iwai <tiwai@...e.de>, Kay Sievers <kay@...y.org>,
	Sreekanth Reddy <sreekanth.reddy@...gotech.com>,
	James Bottomley <James.Bottomley@...senpartnership.com>,
	Praveen Krishnamoorthy <praveen.krishnamoorthy@...gotech.com>,
	hare <hare@...e.com>,
	Nagalakshmi Nandigama <nagalakshmi.nandigama@...gotech.com>,
	Wu Zhangjin <falcon@...zu.com>,
	Tetsuo Handa <penguin-kernel@...ove.sakura.ne.jp>,
	"mpt-fusionlinux.pdl" <MPT-FusionLinux.pdl@...gotech.com>,
	Tim Gardner <tim.gardner@...onical.com>,
	Benjamin Poirier <bpoirier@...e.de>,
	Santosh Rastapur <santosh@...lsio.com>,
	Casey Leedom <leedom@...lsio.com>,
	Hariprasad S <hariprasad@...lsio.com>,
	Pierre Fersing <pierre-fersing@...rref.org>,
	Arjan van de Ven <arjan@...ux.intel.com>,
	Abhijit Mahajan <abhijit.mahajan@...gotech.com>,
	systemd Mailing List <systemd-devel@...ts.freedesktop.org>,
	Linux SCSI List <linux-scsi@...r.kernel.org>,
	"netdev@...r.kernel.org" <netdev@...r.kernel.org>,
	Dmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@...il.com>,
	Oleg Nesterov <oleg@...hat.com>,
	"linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
	Tejun Heo <tj@...nel.org>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Joseph Salisbury <joseph.salisbury@...onical.com>
Subject: Re: [systemd-devel] [RFC v2 3/6] kthread: warn on kill signal if
 not OOM

16.10.2014 01:41, Anatol Pomozov wrote:
> True. module name should be enough. In this case to debug the issue user needs:
>   - disable failing udev rule (or blacklist module?)
>   - reboot, it will let the user get into shell
>   - modprobe the failing module
>   - use sysrq-trigger to get more information about stuck process

Nitpick: this only works only if the "stuck modprobe" bug is 100% 
reproducible. Which is not a given. So it is better to collect as much 
information about the bug when it is noticed by systemd.

-- 
Alexander E. Patrakov
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists