lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Tue, 21 Oct 2014 00:19:17 +0200
From:	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>
To:	Grant Likely <grant.likely@...aro.org>
Cc:	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
	Mika Westerberg <mika.westerberg@...ux.intel.com>,
	ACPI Devel Maling List <linux-acpi@...r.kernel.org>,
	Aaron Lu <aaron.lu@...el.com>, devicetree@...r.kernel.org,
	Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@...aro.org>,
	Alexandre Courbot <gnurou@...il.com>,
	Dmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@...il.com>,
	Bryan Wu <cooloney@...il.com>,
	Darren Hart <dvhart@...ux.intel.com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v5 03/12] ACPI: Allow drivers to match using Device Tree compatible property

On Monday, October 20, 2014 04:05:01 PM Grant Likely wrote:
> On Fri, 17 Oct 2014 14:05:59 +0200
> , "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>
>  wrote:
> > From: Mika Westerberg <mika.westerberg@...ux.intel.com>
> > 
> > We have lots of existing Device Tree enabled drivers and allocating
> > separate _HID for each is not feasible. Instead we allocate special _HID
> > "PRP0001" that means that the match should be done using Device Tree
> > compatible property using driver's .of_match_table instead if the driver
> > is missing .acpi_match_table.
> 
> (Not a critique of this patch, but merely a helpful comment; my previous
> ack remains intact) :-)
> 
> It would be useful for the code to point at some document that describes
> the semantics of the PRP0001 binding.

Well, we need to create that document in the first place. :-)

I'd prefer to wait with that until the thing settles, however.

Rafael

--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists