lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Wed, 22 Oct 2014 23:18:31 -0600
From:	Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@...gle.com>
To:	Yijing Wang <wangyijing@...wei.com>
Cc:	linux-pci@...r.kernel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
	Xinwei Hu <huxinwei@...wei.com>, Wuyun <wuyun.wu@...wei.com>,
	linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
	Russell King <linux@....linux.org.uk>,
	linux-arch@...r.kernel.org, arnab.basu@...escale.com,
	Bharat.Bhushan@...escale.com, x86@...nel.org,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
	Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@...cle.com>,
	xen-devel@...ts.xenproject.org, Joerg Roedel <joro@...tes.org>,
	iommu@...ts.linux-foundation.org, linux-mips@...ux-mips.org,
	Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@...nel.crashing.org>,
	linuxppc-dev@...ts.ozlabs.org, linux-s390@...r.kernel.org,
	Sebastian Ott <sebott@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	Tony Luck <tony.luck@...el.com>, linux-ia64@...r.kernel.org,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
	sparclinux@...r.kernel.org, Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@...era.com>,
	Ralf Baechle <ralf@...ux-mips.org>,
	Lucas Stach <l.stach@...gutronix.de>,
	David Vrabel <david.vrabel@...rix.com>,
	Sergei Shtylyov <sergei.shtylyov@...entembedded.com>,
	Michael Ellerman <mpe@...erman.id.au>,
	Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@...il.com>,
	Thomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni@...e-electrons.com>,
	Liviu Dudau <liviu@...au.co.uk>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 05/27] PCI: tegra: Save msi chip in pci_sys_data

On Wed, Oct 15, 2014 at 11:06:53AM +0800, Yijing Wang wrote:
> Save msi chip in pci_sys_data instead of assign
> msi chip to every pci bus in .add_bus().
> 
> Signed-off-by: Yijing Wang <wangyijing@...wei.com>
> ---
>  drivers/pci/host/pci-tegra.c |   13 +++----------
>  1 files changed, 3 insertions(+), 10 deletions(-)
> 
> diff --git a/drivers/pci/host/pci-tegra.c b/drivers/pci/host/pci-tegra.c
> index 3d43874..5af0525 100644
> --- a/drivers/pci/host/pci-tegra.c
> +++ b/drivers/pci/host/pci-tegra.c
> @@ -694,15 +694,6 @@ static int tegra_pcie_map_irq(const struct pci_dev *pdev, u8 slot, u8 pin)
>  	return irq;
>  }
>  
> -static void tegra_pcie_add_bus(struct pci_bus *bus)
> -{
> -	if (IS_ENABLED(CONFIG_PCI_MSI)) {
> -		struct tegra_pcie *pcie = sys_to_pcie(bus->sysdata);
> -
> -		bus->msi = &pcie->msi.chip;
> -	}
> -}
> -
>  static struct pci_bus *tegra_pcie_scan_bus(int nr, struct pci_sys_data *sys)
>  {
>  	struct tegra_pcie *pcie = sys_to_pcie(sys);
> @@ -1881,11 +1872,13 @@ static int tegra_pcie_enable(struct tegra_pcie *pcie)
>  
>  	memset(&hw, 0, sizeof(hw));
>  
> +#ifdef CONFIG_PCI_MSI
> +	hw.msi_chip = &pcie->msi.chip;
> +#endif

Why did you use "#ifdef CONFIG_PCI_MSI" instead of the
"IS_ENABLED(CONFIG_PCI_MSI)" used previously?

It's true that CONFIG_PCI_MSI will never be a tristate symbol, so we don't
really *need* the extra smarts of IS_ENABLED(), but I'm fairly sympathetic
to James' argument [1] that we should just use IS_ENABLED() all the time
because it's simpler overall.

If you want to change the #ifdef to IS_ENABLED(), that should be a separate
patch from your msi_chip change, and we can debate the merits of that by
itself.

[1] http://lkml.iu.edu//hypermail/linux/kernel/1204.3/00081.html

>  	hw.nr_controllers = 1;
>  	hw.private_data = (void **)&pcie;
>  	hw.setup = tegra_pcie_setup;
>  	hw.map_irq = tegra_pcie_map_irq;
> -	hw.add_bus = tegra_pcie_add_bus;
>  	hw.scan = tegra_pcie_scan_bus;
>  	hw.ops = &tegra_pcie_ops;
>  
> -- 
> 1.7.1
> 
> --
> To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
> the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
> More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
> Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists