lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Mon, 10 Nov 2014 09:02:35 -0800
From:	Eric Dumazet <eric.dumazet@...il.com>
To:	David Vrabel <david.vrabel@...rix.com>
Cc:	Zoltan Kiss <zoltan.kiss@...aro.org>, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
	Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@...cle.com>,
	Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@...cle.com>,
	Stefan Bader <stefan.bader@...onical.com>,
	Jay Vosburgh <jay.vosburgh@...onical.com>,
	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, xen-devel@...ts.xenproject.org
Subject: Re: [Xen-devel] BUG in xennet_make_frags with paged skb data

On Mon, 2014-11-10 at 16:42 +0000, David Vrabel wrote:
> On 10/11/14 16:39, Zoltan Kiss wrote:
> > 
> > The BUG_ON suggested by Stefan would be still reasonable:
> > 
> > BUG_ON(((page-compound_head(page))*PAGE_SIZE)+offset+len >
> > PAGE_SIZE<<compound_order(compound_head(page)));
> 
> Well, it wouldn't trigger but I don't think it is useful any more.

Right.

This BUG_ON() does not make sense (its current implementation is
assuming a very precise layout anyway)

If we really wanted some debugging, we would need something more generic
and done in core networking stack, not in a particular driver.


--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists