lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Sun, 28 Dec 2014 21:46:20 +0000
From:	Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@....com>
To:	Christoffer Dall <christoffer.dall@...aro.org>,
	Daniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@...aro.org>
Cc:	<linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
	<linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
	Olof Johansson <olof@...om.net>,
	Yingjoe Chen <yingjoe.chen@...iatek.com>,
	Sonny Rao <sonnyrao@...omium.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] clocksource: arch_timer: Fix arm64 platforms not booting

On 2014-12-28 14:20, Christoffer Dall wrote:
> Commit 0b46b8a718c6e ("clocksource: arch_timer: Fix code to...") 
> fixes
> timer issues with certain ARMv7 platforms, but unfortunately breaks
> arm64 platforms with hyp mode (EL2) enabled.
>
> The commit only sets arch_timer_use_virtual to false under 
> CONFIG_ARM,
> but forgets that the config variable is also set in other code paths
> (actually, right underneath the check in the patch) with detrimental
> consequences as we've now introduced a direct early call to BUG() on
> practically all arm64 platforms.
>
> One could argue that this code could be refactored to use different
> variables for checking which *timer* to use and which *counter* to 
> use,
> which seems to be the desired difference between ARM and arm64 in 
> this
> case, but this approach fixes an urgent issue for now.
>
> Cc: Sonny Rao <sonnyrao@...omium.org>
> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>
> Cc: Daniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@...aro.org>
> Cc: Olof Johansson <olof@...om.net>
> Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>
> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>
> Cc: Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@....com>
> Cc: Yingjoe Chen <yingjoe.chen@...iatek.com>
> Signed-off-by: Christoffer Dall <christoffer.dall@...aro.org>
> ---
> This was apparently already discovered by Yingjoe Chen in this thread
> https://lkml.org/lkml/2014/11/24/41 and Catalin recommended a similar
> fix.

I'm increasingly worried about the time it takes to get such critical
fixes into the tree (arm64 is *dead* without it).

What is holding this patch which, as far as I remember, has been posted
by Catalin almost three weeks ago?

Daniel?

         M.
-- 
Fast, cheap, reliable. Pick two.
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists