lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Mon, 29 Dec 2014 19:13:57 +0000
From:	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>
To:	Christoffer Dall <christoffer.dall@...aro.org>, arnd@...db.de
Cc:	Marc Zyngier <Marc.Zyngier@....com>,
	Daniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@...aro.org>,
	"linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org" 
	<linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
	"linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
	Catalin Marinas <Catalin.Marinas@....com>,
	Olof Johansson <olof@...om.net>,
	Yingjoe Chen <yingjoe.chen@...iatek.com>,
	Sonny Rao <sonnyrao@...omium.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] clocksource: arch_timer: Fix arm64 platforms not booting

[Adding Arnd]

On Mon, Dec 29, 2014 at 08:35:09AM +0000, Christoffer Dall wrote:
> On Sun, Dec 28, 2014 at 09:46:20PM +0000, Marc Zyngier wrote:
> > On 2014-12-28 14:20, Christoffer Dall wrote:
> > >Commit 0b46b8a718c6e ("clocksource: arch_timer: Fix code to...")
> > >fixes
> > >timer issues with certain ARMv7 platforms, but unfortunately breaks
> > >arm64 platforms with hyp mode (EL2) enabled.
> > >
> > >The commit only sets arch_timer_use_virtual to false under
> > >CONFIG_ARM,
> > >but forgets that the config variable is also set in other code paths
> > >(actually, right underneath the check in the patch) with detrimental
> > >consequences as we've now introduced a direct early call to BUG() on
> > >practically all arm64 platforms.
> > >
> > >One could argue that this code could be refactored to use different
> > >variables for checking which *timer* to use and which *counter* to
> > >use,
> > >which seems to be the desired difference between ARM and arm64 in
> > >this
> > >case, but this approach fixes an urgent issue for now.
> > >
> > >Cc: Sonny Rao <sonnyrao@...omium.org>
> > >Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>
> > >Cc: Daniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@...aro.org>
> > >Cc: Olof Johansson <olof@...om.net>
> > >Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>
> > >Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>
> > >Cc: Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@....com>
> > >Cc: Yingjoe Chen <yingjoe.chen@...iatek.com>
> > >Signed-off-by: Christoffer Dall <christoffer.dall@...aro.org>
> > >---
> > >This was apparently already discovered by Yingjoe Chen in this thread
> > >https://lkml.org/lkml/2014/11/24/41 and Catalin recommended a similar
> > >fix.
> > 
> > I'm increasingly worried about the time it takes to get such critical
> > fixes into the tree (arm64 is *dead* without it).
> > 
> > What is holding this patch which, as far as I remember, has been posted
> > by Catalin almost three weeks ago?
> > 
> I didn't find that since I didn't think I'd have to go back that long on
> lakml for something that breaks boot of an entire architecture.  Sorry
> for the confusion of a second patch, but fwiw, I now spent another few
> hours bisecting this, so I would really like to see this fix go into
> mainline ASAP as well to save others the trouble.

Last I knew, Arnd was going to take the fix [1], which has been in
arm-soc's for-next and fixes branches for almost two weeks now. It
didn't make it into the last pull req due to some confusion over who was
going to take it.

Arnd, what's the plan for getting this into mainline ASAP?

Mark.

[1] https://git.kernel.org/cgit/linux/kernel/git/arm/arm-soc.git/commit/?h=fixes&id=d6ad36913083d683aad4e02e53580c995f1a6ede
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists