lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Sun, 29 Mar 2015 21:25:29 +0530
From:	"Aneesh Kumar K.V" <aneesh.kumar@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>
To:	"Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@...ux.intel.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@...hat.com>
Cc:	Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...el.com>,
	Hugh Dickins <hughd@...gle.com>, Mel Gorman <mgorman@...e.de>,
	Rik van Riel <riel@...hat.com>,
	Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@...e.cz>,
	Christoph Lameter <cl@...two.org>,
	Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@...jp.nec.com>,
	Steve Capper <steve.capper@...aro.org>,
	Johannes Weiner <hannes@...xchg.org>,
	Michal Hocko <mhocko@...e.cz>,
	Jerome Marchand <jmarchan@...hat.com>,
	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, linux-mm@...ck.org,
	"Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@...ux.intel.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCHv4 12/24] thp: PMD splitting without splitting compound page

"Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@...ux.intel.com> writes:

> Current split_huge_page() combines two operations: splitting PMDs into
> tables of PTEs and splitting underlying compound page. This patch
> changes split_huge_pmd() implementation to split the given PMD without
> splitting other PMDs this page mapped with or underlying compound page.
>
> In order to do this we have to get rid of tail page refcounting, which
> uses _mapcount of tail pages. Tail page refcounting is needed to be able
> to split THP page at any point: we always know which of tail pages is
> pinned (i.e. by get_user_pages()) and can distribute page count
> correctly.
>
> We can avoid this by allowing split_huge_page() to fail if the compound
> page is pinned. This patch removes all infrastructure for tail page
> refcounting and make split_huge_page() to always return -EBUSY. All
> split_huge_page() users already know how to handle its fail. Proper
> implementation will be added later.
>
> Without tail page refcounting, implementation of split_huge_pmd() is
> pretty straight-forward.
>
> Memory cgroup is not yet ready for new refcouting. Let's disable it on
> Kconfig level.
>
> Signed-off-by: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@...ux.intel.com>
.....
.....

>  static inline int page_mapped(struct page *page)
>  {
> -	return atomic_read(&(page)->_mapcount) + compound_mapcount(page) >= 0;
> +	int i;
> +	if (likely(!PageCompound(page)))
> +		return atomic_read(&page->_mapcount) >= 0;
> +	if (compound_mapcount(page))
> +		return 1;
> +	for (i = 0; i < hpage_nr_pages(page); i++) {
> +		if (atomic_read(&page[i]._mapcount) >= 0)
> +			return 1;
> +	}

do we need to loop with head page here ? ie,

page = compound_page(page);

> +	return 0;
>  }

--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists