lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Tue, 6 Oct 2015 17:04:09 -0600
From:	Stephen Warren <swarren@...dotorg.org>
To:	Jon Hunter <jonathanh@...dia.com>
Cc:	Laxman Dewangan <ldewangan@...dia.com>,
	Vinod Koul <vinod.koul@...el.com>,
	Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@...il.com>,
	Alexandre Courbot <gnurou@...il.com>,
	Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
	Pawel Moll <pawel.moll@....com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
	Ian Campbell <ijc+devicetree@...lion.org.uk>,
	Kumar Gala <galak@...eaurora.org>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>, dmaengine@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-tegra@...r.kernel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH V2 1/2] Documentation: DT: Add binding documentation for
 NVIDIA ADMA

On 10/05/2015 06:10 AM, Jon Hunter wrote:
> Add device-tree binding documentation for the Tegra210 Audio DMA
> controller.

> diff --git a/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/dma/tegra210-adma.txt b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/dma/tegra210-adma.txt

> +- #dma-cells : Must be <2>. The first cell denotes the transmit or
> +  receive request number and should be between 1 and the maximum number
> +  of requests supported (see properties "dma-rx-requests" and
> +  "dma-tx-requests"). This value corresponds to the RX/TX_REQUEST_SELECT
> +  fields in the ADMA_CHn_CTRL register. The second cell denotes whether
> +  the channel is a receive or transmit channel and must be either 2 for
> +  a receive channel and 4 for a transmit channel. These values correspond
> +  to the TRANSFER_DIRECTION field of the ADMA_CHn_CTRL register.

Is it typical to encode the direction into the dma cells? I would have 
thought the client would provide that information at run-time when 
requesting a DMA channel.
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists