lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Tue, 6 Oct 2015 11:25:48 +0100
From:	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>
To:	Steve Capper <steve.capper@...aro.org>
Cc:	Russell King - ARM Linux <linux@....linux.org.uk>,
	"Suzuki K. Poulose" <suzuki.poulose@....com>,
	"linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org" 
	<linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>, Vladimir.Murzin@....com,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>,
	Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@....com>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>,
	"linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
	Edward Nevill <edward.nevill@...aro.org>, aph@...hat.com,
	james.morse@....com, Andre Przywara <andre.przywara@....com>,
	dave.martin@....com
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 21/22] arm64: cpuinfo: Expose MIDR_EL1 and REVIDR_EL1
 to sysfs

On Tue, Oct 06, 2015 at 11:18:42AM +0100, Steve Capper wrote:
> On 6 October 2015 at 10:09, Russell King - ARM Linux
> <linux@....linux.org.uk> wrote:
> > On Mon, Oct 05, 2015 at 06:02:10PM +0100, Suzuki K. Poulose wrote:
> >> +static int __init cpuinfo_regs_init(void)
> >> +{
> >> +     int cpu, ret;
> >> +
> >> +     for_each_present_cpu(cpu) {
> >> +             struct device *dev = get_cpu_device(cpu);
> >> +
> >> +             if (!dev)
> >> +                     return -1;
> >
> > NAK.  Go figure out why, I'm too lazy to tell you.
> 
> I will correct the return code to be -ENODEV.
> Was that the reasoning behind the NAK?

I suspect the half-initialised sysfs groups also have something to do
with it...

Mark.

> 
> >
> >> +
> >> +             ret = sysfs_create_group(&dev->kobj, &cpuregs_attr_group);
> >> +             if (ret)
> >> +                     return ret;
> >> +     }
> >> +
> >> +     return 0;
> >> +}
> >> +
> >> +device_initcall(cpuinfo_regs_init);
> >> --
> >> 1.7.9.5
> 
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists