lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Tue,  6 Oct 2015 18:23:58 +0300
From:	"Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@...ux.intel.com>
To:	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@...hat.com>,
	Hugh Dickins <hughd@...gle.com>
Cc:	Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...el.com>, Mel Gorman <mgorman@...e.de>,
	Rik van Riel <riel@...hat.com>,
	Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@...e.cz>,
	Christoph Lameter <cl@...two.org>,
	Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@...jp.nec.com>,
	Steve Capper <steve.capper@...aro.org>,
	"Aneesh Kumar K.V" <aneesh.kumar@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	Johannes Weiner <hannes@...xchg.org>,
	Michal Hocko <mhocko@...e.cz>,
	Jerome Marchand <jmarchan@...hat.com>,
	Sasha Levin <sasha.levin@...cle.com>,
	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, linux-mm@...ck.org,
	"Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@...ux.intel.com>
Subject: [PATCHv12 31/37] thp, mm: split_huge_page(): caller need to lock page

We're going to use migration entries instead of compound_lock() to
stabilize page refcounts. Setup and remove migration entries require
page to be locked.

Some of split_huge_page() callers already have the page locked. Let's
require everybody to lock the page before calling split_huge_page().

Signed-off-by: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@...ux.intel.com>
Tested-by: Sasha Levin <sasha.levin@...cle.com>
Tested-by: Aneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>
Acked-by: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@...e.cz>
Acked-by: Jerome Marchand <jmarchan@...hat.com>
---
 mm/memory-failure.c | 8 +++++++-
 mm/migrate.c        | 8 ++++++--
 2 files changed, 13 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

diff --git a/mm/memory-failure.c b/mm/memory-failure.c
index 5b965e27aaae..a2c987df80eb 100644
--- a/mm/memory-failure.c
+++ b/mm/memory-failure.c
@@ -1149,7 +1149,9 @@ int memory_failure(unsigned long pfn, int trapno, int flags)
 	}
 
 	if (!PageHuge(p) && PageTransHuge(hpage)) {
+		lock_page(hpage);
 		if (!PageAnon(hpage) || unlikely(split_huge_page(hpage))) {
+			unlock_page(hpage);
 			if (!PageAnon(hpage))
 				pr_err("MCE: %#lx: non anonymous thp\n", pfn);
 			else
@@ -1159,6 +1161,7 @@ int memory_failure(unsigned long pfn, int trapno, int flags)
 			put_hwpoison_page(p);
 			return -EBUSY;
 		}
+		unlock_page(hpage);
 		VM_BUG_ON_PAGE(!page_count(p), p);
 		hpage = compound_head(p);
 	}
@@ -1751,7 +1754,10 @@ int soft_offline_page(struct page *page, int flags)
 		return -EBUSY;
 	}
 	if (!PageHuge(page) && PageTransHuge(hpage)) {
-		if (PageAnon(hpage) && unlikely(split_huge_page(hpage))) {
+		lock_page(page);
+		ret = split_huge_page(hpage);
+		unlock_page(page);
+		if (unlikely(ret)) {
 			pr_info("soft offline: %#lx: failed to split THP\n",
 				pfn);
 			if (flags & MF_COUNT_INCREASED)
diff --git a/mm/migrate.c b/mm/migrate.c
index 45fadab47c53..c58bc6824d66 100644
--- a/mm/migrate.c
+++ b/mm/migrate.c
@@ -949,9 +949,13 @@ static ICE_noinline int unmap_and_move(new_page_t get_new_page,
 		goto out;
 	}
 
-	if (unlikely(PageTransHuge(page)))
-		if (unlikely(split_huge_page(page)))
+	if (unlikely(PageTransHuge(page))) {
+		lock_page(page);
+		rc = split_huge_page(page);
+		unlock_page(page);
+		if (rc)
 			goto out;
+	}
 
 	rc = __unmap_and_move(page, newpage, force, mode);
 
-- 
2.5.3

--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists