lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Tue,  6 Oct 2015 18:24:00 +0300
From:	"Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@...ux.intel.com>
To:	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@...hat.com>,
	Hugh Dickins <hughd@...gle.com>
Cc:	Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...el.com>, Mel Gorman <mgorman@...e.de>,
	Rik van Riel <riel@...hat.com>,
	Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@...e.cz>,
	Christoph Lameter <cl@...two.org>,
	Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@...jp.nec.com>,
	Steve Capper <steve.capper@...aro.org>,
	"Aneesh Kumar K.V" <aneesh.kumar@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	Johannes Weiner <hannes@...xchg.org>,
	Michal Hocko <mhocko@...e.cz>,
	Jerome Marchand <jmarchan@...hat.com>,
	Sasha Levin <sasha.levin@...cle.com>,
	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, linux-mm@...ck.org,
	"Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@...ux.intel.com>
Subject: [PATCHv12 33/37] migrate_pages: try to split pages on qeueuing

We are not able to migrate THPs. It means it's not enough to split only
PMD on migration -- we need to split compound page under it too.

Signed-off-by: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@...ux.intel.com>
Tested-by: Aneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>
Acked-by: Jerome Marchand <jmarchan@...hat.com>
---
 mm/mempolicy.c | 40 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++----
 1 file changed, 36 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)

diff --git a/mm/mempolicy.c b/mm/mempolicy.c
index 8102f30a3895..4a02de4e173f 100644
--- a/mm/mempolicy.c
+++ b/mm/mempolicy.c
@@ -489,14 +489,31 @@ static int queue_pages_pte_range(pmd_t *pmd, unsigned long addr,
 	struct page *page;
 	struct queue_pages *qp = walk->private;
 	unsigned long flags = qp->flags;
-	int nid;
+	int nid, ret;
 	pte_t *pte;
 	spinlock_t *ptl;
 
-	split_huge_pmd(vma, pmd, addr);
-	if (pmd_trans_unstable(pmd))
-		return 0;
+	if (pmd_trans_huge(*pmd)) {
+		ptl = pmd_lock(walk->mm, pmd);
+		if (pmd_trans_huge(*pmd)) {
+			page = pmd_page(*pmd);
+			if (is_huge_zero_page(page)) {
+				spin_unlock(ptl);
+				split_huge_pmd(vma, pmd, addr);
+			} else {
+				get_page(page);
+				spin_unlock(ptl);
+				lock_page(page);
+				ret = split_huge_page(page);
+				unlock_page(page);
+				put_page(page);
+				if (ret)
+					return 0;
+			}
+		}
+	}
 
+retry:
 	pte = pte_offset_map_lock(walk->mm, pmd, addr, &ptl);
 	for (; addr != end; pte++, addr += PAGE_SIZE) {
 		if (!pte_present(*pte))
@@ -513,6 +530,21 @@ static int queue_pages_pte_range(pmd_t *pmd, unsigned long addr,
 		nid = page_to_nid(page);
 		if (node_isset(nid, *qp->nmask) == !!(flags & MPOL_MF_INVERT))
 			continue;
+		if (PageTail(page) && PageAnon(page)) {
+			get_page(page);
+			pte_unmap_unlock(pte, ptl);
+			lock_page(page);
+			ret = split_huge_page(page);
+			unlock_page(page);
+			put_page(page);
+			/* Failed to split -- skip. */
+			if (ret) {
+				pte = pte_offset_map_lock(walk->mm, pmd,
+						addr, &ptl);
+				continue;
+			}
+			goto retry;
+		}
 
 		if (flags & (MPOL_MF_MOVE | MPOL_MF_MOVE_ALL))
 			migrate_page_add(page, qp->pagelist, flags);
-- 
2.5.3

--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists