lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Tue,  6 Oct 2015 13:47:12 -0700
From:	Laura Abbott <labbott@...oraproject.org>
To:	Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
	Frank Rowand <frowand.list@...il.com>,
	Sumit Semwal <sumit.semwal@...aro.org>,
	Andrew Andrianov <andrew@...mnt.org>, <arve@...roid.com>,
	Riley Andrews <riandrews@...roid.com>
Cc:	Laura Abbott <laura@...bott.name>,
	John Stultz <john.stultz@...aro.org>,
	Grant Likely <grant.likely@...aro.org>,
	devicetree@...r.kernel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
	Tom Gall <tom.gall@...aro.org>,
	Colin Cross <ccross@...gle.com>, devel@...verdev.osuosl.org,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
	romlem@...gle.com, mitchelh@...eaurora.org,
	linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
	Feng Tang <feng.tang@...el.com>,
	Marek Szyprowski <m.szyprowski@...sung.com>
Subject: [RFC][PATCH 1/2] WIP: Devicetree bindings for Ion

From: Laura Abbott <laura@...bott.name>


This adds a base set of devicetree bindings for the Ion memory
manager. This supports setting up the generic set of heaps and
their properties.

Signed-off-by: Laura Abbott <laura@...bott.name>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Andrianov <andrew@...mnt.org>
---
 drivers/staging/android/ion/devicetree.txt | 53 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
 1 file changed, 53 insertions(+)
 create mode 100644 drivers/staging/android/ion/devicetree.txt

diff --git a/drivers/staging/android/ion/devicetree.txt b/drivers/staging/android/ion/devicetree.txt
new file mode 100644
index 0000000..4a0c941
--- /dev/null
+++ b/drivers/staging/android/ion/devicetree.txt
@@ -0,0 +1,53 @@
+Ion Memory Manager
+
+Ion is a memory manager that allows for sharing of buffers via dma-buf.
+Ion allows for different types of allocation via an abstraction called
+a 'heap'. A heap represents a specific type of memory. Each heap has
+a different type. There can be multiple instances of the same heap
+type.
+
+Required properties for Ion
+
+- compatible: "linux,ion"
+
+All child nodes of a linux,ion node are interpreted as heaps
+
+required properties for heaps
+
+- linux,ion-heap-id: The Ion heap id used for allocation selection
+- linux,ion-heap-type: Ion heap type defined in ion.h
+- linux,ion-heap-name: Human readble name of the heap
+
+
+Optional properties
+- memory-region: A phandle to a memory region. Required for DMA heap type
+(see reserved-memory.txt for details on the reservation)
+- linux,ion-heap-align: Alignment for the heap.
+
+Example:
+
+	ion {
+		compatbile = "linux,ion";
+		#address-cells = <1>;
+		#size-cells = <0>;
+
+		ion-system-heap {
+			linux,ion-heap-id = <0>;
+			linux,ion-heap-type = <ION_SYSTEM_HEAP_TYPE>;
+			linux,ion-heap-name = "system";
+		};
+
+		ion-camera-region {
+			linux,ion-heap-id = <1>;
+			linux,ion-heap-type = <ION_DMA_HEAP_TYPE>;
+			linux,ion-heap-name = "camera"
+			memory-region = <&camera_region>;
+		};
+
+		ion-fb-region {
+			linux,ion-heap-id = <2>;
+			linux,ion-heap-type = <ION_DMA_HEAP_TYPE>;
+			linux,ion-heap-name = "fb"
+			memory-region = <&fb_region>;
+		};
+	}
-- 
2.4.3

--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@...r.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at  http://www.tux.org/lkml/

Powered by blists - more mailing lists