lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:	Sun, 15 May 2016 00:19:46 +0200
From:	Richard Weinberger <richard.weinberger@...il.com>
To:	Calvin Owens <calvinowens@...com>
Cc:	"Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	David Howells <dhowells@...hat.com>,
	Pranith Kumar <bobby.prani@...il.com>,
	David Woodhouse <David.Woodhouse@...el.com>,
	Johannes Weiner <hannes@...xchg.org>,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>,
	Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>, Tejun Heo <tj@...nel.org>,
	Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@...il.com>,
	Vasily Averin <vvs@...tuozzo.com>,
	Thierry Reding <treding@...dia.com>,
	Geliang Tang <geliangtang@....com>,
	Ivan Delalande <colona@...sta.com>,
	LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>, kernel-team@...com
Subject: Re: [RFC][PATCH] printk: Add option to append kernel version to the dict

On Fri, May 13, 2016 at 10:58 PM, Calvin Owens <calvinowens@...com> wrote:
> We use netconsole to collect kernel logs from all the servers at
> Facebook. We use this patch internally so each logline has a record of
> which kernel version emitted it.
>
> At first glance, this might seem lazy: as you would expect, we have a
> database which records which kernel version a host is currently running.
> But there are a lot of situations where that database cannot be current:
> early-ish boot crashes are probably the best example, but even beyond
> that there are lots of varieties of kernel brokenness that can prevent
> the database from being updated. Doing it explicitly this way ensures
> that we always know exactly what version emitted a given message.
>
> Doing it in printk() itself rather than extended netconsole ends up
> being much simpler, and has the advantage that future extended console
> implementations will be able to benefit from this as well.
>
> Signed-off-by: Calvin Owens <calvinowens@...com>
> ---
>  init/Kconfig           |  8 ++++++++
>  kernel/printk/printk.c | 14 ++++++++++++++
>  2 files changed, 22 insertions(+)

I don't think adding a new config option is appropriate.
How about adding a log format string tunable to netconsole?

-- 
Thanks,
//richard

Powered by blists - more mailing lists