lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Sat, 24 Dec 2016 12:46:56 +0100 (CET)
From:   Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>
To:     Stephen Rothwell <sfr@...b.auug.org.au>
cc:     Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>,
        James Bottomley <James.Bottomley@...senPartnership.com>,
        linux-next@...r.kernel.org, LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Manish Rangankar <manish.rangankar@...ium.com>,
        "Martin K. Petersen" <martin.petersen@...cle.com>,
        Nilesh Javali <nilesh.javali@...ium.com>,
        Adheer Chandravanshi <adheer.chandravanshi@...gic.com>,
        Chad Dupuis <chad.dupuis@...ium.com>,
        Saurav Kashyap <saurav.kashyap@...ium.com>,
        Arun Easi <arun.easi@...ium.com>,
        Sebastian Andrzej Siewior <bigeasy@...utronix.de>,
        Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>
Subject: Re: linux-next: build failure after merge of the scsi tree

On Sat, 24 Dec 2016, Stephen Rothwell wrote:
> On Thu, 22 Dec 2016 16:56:34 -0800 James Bottomley <James.Bottomley@...senPartnership.com> wrote:
> >
> > On Fri, 2016-12-23 at 11:45 +1100, Stephen Rothwell wrote:
> > > Hi James,
> > > 
> > > After merging the scsi tree, today's linux-next build (x86_64
> > > allmodconfig) failed like this:
> > > 
> > > drivers/scsi/qedi/qedi_main.c: In function 'qedi_init':
> > > drivers/scsi/qedi/qedi_main.c:2073:2: error: implicit declaration of
> > > function 'register_hotcpu_notifier' [-Werror=implicit-function
> > > -declaration]
> > >   register_hotcpu_notifier(&qedi_cpu_notifier);
> > >   ^
> > > drivers/scsi/qedi/qedi_main.c: In function 'qedi_cleanup':
> > > drivers/scsi/qedi/qedi_main.c:2113:2: error: implicit declaration of
> > > function 'unregister_hotcpu_notifier' [-Werror=implicit-function
> > > -declaration]
> > >   unregister_hotcpu_notifier(&qedi_cpu_notifier);
> > >   ^
> > > 
> > > Caused by commit
> > > 
> > >   ace7f46ba5fd ("scsi: qedi: Add QLogic FastLinQ offload iSCSI driver
> > > framework.")
> > > 
> > > Interacting with commit
> > > 
> > >   8e38db753d95 ("cpu/hotplug: Remove obsolete cpu hotplug
> > > register/unregister functions")
> > > 
> > > from the tip tree.  
> > 
> > Well, that's a bit of a problem given that the SCSI tree has a pending
> > pull request including this driver.
> > 
> > Thomas, can you do another fixup in your tip tree like you did for the
> > two BNX2* drivers?
> 
> OK, so this is now a problem for the tip tree merge since James tree
> has been pulled by Linus.

Sure, because SSCI people merge broken crap and I can wipe up the mess they
create.

Dammit, SCSI folks knew for a long time that the old interface goes away,
but just waving crap through and let other people deal with the outcome is
way simpler.

And of course that hotplug code in this new driver is broken as hell. It
leaks notifiers in cases of errors and is racy against cpu hotplug. The
proper thing would be to mark this trainwreck broken and be done with it.

I'm seriously pissed off as I now have to rebase my stuff and cleanup that
sad affair in order to not break bisects completely.

Yours grumpy,

	tglx

.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists