lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Sun, 8 Jan 2017 09:41:45 +0100
From:   Lukas Wunner <lukas@...ner.de>
To:     Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Cc:     Andreas Noever <andreas.noever@...il.com>,
        linux-pci@...r.kernel.org, linux-pm@...r.kernel.org,
        Chen Yu <yu.c.chen@...el.com>,
        Tomas Winkler <tomas.winkler@...el.com>,
        Amir Levy <amir.jer.levy@...el.com>,
        Bjorn Helgaas <helgaas@...nel.org>,
        Mika Westerberg <mika.westerberg@...ux.intel.com>,
        "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael.j.wysocki@...el.com>,
        Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@...aro.org>,
        Tomeu Vizoso <tomeu.vizoso@...labora.com>,
        Lee Jones <lee.jones@...aro.org>,
        Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@...ux.intel.com>
Subject: [PATCH v4 0/8] Runtime PM for Thunderbolt on Macs

Power down Thunderbolt controllers on Macs when nothing is plugged in
to save around 2W per controller.

For details see the cover letter of v3:
https://lkml.org/lkml/2016/12/17/56


Patches [1/7] to [3/7] need an ack from Bjorn (and possibly Rafael or
Mika).  Patches [4/7] to [6/7] need an ack from Rafael.


Changes since v3:

- Additional patch [6/8] by Chen Yu to define a DPM_DIRECT_COMPLETE macro.
  I had expected this to land in v4.10 but it didn't.

- Rework patch [7/8] ("thunderbolt: Power down controller when idle")
  according to Andy Shevchenko's feedback:  Drop unnecessary #ifdef pr_fmt,
  add explanatory comments, rename goto labels.

- Fix error path if the upstream bridge cannot be found.

The patches are also browseable on GitHub:
https://github.com/l1k/linux/commits/thunderbolt_runpm_v4

Thanks,

Lukas


Chen Yu (1):
  PM / sleep: Define constant for direct_complete

Lukas Wunner (7):
  PCI: Recognize Thunderbolt devices
  PCI: Allow runtime PM on Thunderbolt ports
  PCI: Don't block runtime PM for Thunderbolt host hotplug ports
  Revert "PM / Runtime: Remove the exported function
    pm_children_suspended()"
  PM: Make requirements of dev_pm_domain_set() more precise
  thunderbolt: Power down controller when idle
  thunderbolt: Runtime suspend NHI when idle

 drivers/base/power/common.c  |  15 +-
 drivers/base/power/runtime.c |   3 +-
 drivers/pci/pci.c            |  20 ++-
 drivers/pci/pci.h            |   2 +
 drivers/pci/probe.c          |  34 +++++
 drivers/thunderbolt/Kconfig  |   3 +-
 drivers/thunderbolt/Makefile |   4 +-
 drivers/thunderbolt/nhi.c    |   5 +
 drivers/thunderbolt/power.c  | 355 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
 drivers/thunderbolt/power.h  |  37 +++++
 drivers/thunderbolt/switch.c |   9 ++
 drivers/thunderbolt/tb.c     |  13 ++
 drivers/thunderbolt/tb.h     |   2 +
 include/linux/pci.h          |   1 +
 include/linux/pm.h           |   7 +
 include/linux/pm_runtime.h   |   7 +
 16 files changed, 506 insertions(+), 11 deletions(-)
 create mode 100644 drivers/thunderbolt/power.c
 create mode 100644 drivers/thunderbolt/power.h

-- 
2.11.0

Powered by blists - more mailing lists