lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Mon, 16 Jan 2017 08:33:11 +0100
From:   Michal Hocko <mhocko@...nel.org>
To:     Leon Romanovsky <leon@...nel.org>
Cc:     Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@...e.cz>,
        David Rientjes <rientjes@...gle.com>,
        Mel Gorman <mgorman@...e.de>,
        Johannes Weiner <hannes@...xchg.org>,
        Al Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>, linux-mm@...ck.org,
        LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@...ibm.com>,
        Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@...ibm.com>,
        Herbert Xu <herbert@...dor.apana.org.au>,
        Anton Vorontsov <anton@...msg.org>,
        Colin Cross <ccross@...roid.com>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Tony Luck <tony.luck@...el.com>,
        "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>,
        Ben Skeggs <bskeggs@...hat.com>,
        Kent Overstreet <kent.overstreet@...il.com>,
        Santosh Raspatur <santosh@...lsio.com>,
        Hariprasad S <hariprasad@...lsio.com>,
        Tariq Toukan <tariqt@...lanox.com>,
        Yishai Hadas <yishaih@...lanox.com>,
        Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@...el.com>,
        Oleg Drokin <oleg.drokin@...el.com>,
        Andreas Dilger <andreas.dilger@...el.com>,
        Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@...cle.com>,
        David Sterba <dsterba@...e.com>,
        "Yan, Zheng" <zyan@...hat.com>, Ilya Dryomov <idryomov@...il.com>,
        Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>,
        Eric Dumazet <eric.dumazet@...il.com>, netdev@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH 5/6] treewide: use kv[mz]alloc* rather than opencoded
 variants

On Sat 14-01-17 12:56:32, Leon Romanovsky wrote:
[...]
> Hi Michal,
> 
> I don't see mlx5_vzalloc in the changed list. Any reason why did you skip it?
> 
>  881 static inline void *mlx5_vzalloc(unsigned long size)
>  882 {
>  883         void *rtn;
>  884
>  885         rtn = kzalloc(size, GFP_KERNEL | __GFP_NOWARN);
>  886         if (!rtn)
>  887                 rtn = vzalloc(size);
>  888         return rtn;
>  889 }

No reason to skip it, I just didn't see it. I will fold the following in
if you are OK with it
---
diff --git a/include/linux/mlx5/driver.h b/include/linux/mlx5/driver.h
index cdd2bd62f86d..5e6063170e48 100644
--- a/include/linux/mlx5/driver.h
+++ b/include/linux/mlx5/driver.h
@@ -874,12 +874,7 @@ static inline u16 cmdif_rev(struct mlx5_core_dev *dev)
 
 static inline void *mlx5_vzalloc(unsigned long size)
 {
-	void *rtn;
-
-	rtn = kzalloc(size, GFP_KERNEL | __GFP_NOWARN);
-	if (!rtn)
-		rtn = vzalloc(size);
-	return rtn;
+	return kvzalloc(GFP_KERNEL, size);
 }
 
 static inline u32 mlx5_base_mkey(const u32 key)

-- 
Michal Hocko
SUSE Labs

Powered by blists - more mailing lists