lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 25 Jan 2017 18:29:55 +0000
From:   Mark Brown <broonie@...nel.org>
To:     Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>
Cc:     Furquan Shaikh <furquan@...omium.org>,
        "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael@...nel.org>,
        "Rafael J . Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>,
        Liam Girdwood <lgirdwood@...il.com>,
        Tony Lindgren <tony@...mide.com>,
        Dmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@...il.com>,
        Len Brown <lenb@...nel.org>,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Lorenzo Pieralisi <lorenzo.pieralisi@....com>,
        Hanjun Guo <hanjun.guo@...aro.org>,
        Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>,
        Rob Herring <robh@...nel.org>,
        Sathyanarayana Nujella <sathyanarayana.nujella@...el.com>,
        Heikki Krogerus <heikki.krogerus@...ux.intel.com>,
        Adam Thomson <Adam.Thomson.Opensource@...semi.com>,
        Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@...aro.org>,
        Alexandre Courbot <gnurou@...il.com>,
        linux-gpio@...r.kernel.org,
        ACPI Devel Maling List <linux-acpi@...r.kernel.org>,
        Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Linux OMAP Mailing List <linux-omap@...r.kernel.org>,
        Aaron Durbin <adurbin@...omium.org>, dlaurie@...omium.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH 0/7] Implement generic regulator constraints parsing for
 ACPI and OF

On Wed, Jan 25, 2017 at 06:23:20PM +0000, Mark Rutland wrote:
> On Wed, Jan 25, 2017 at 08:56:42AM -0800, Furquan Shaikh wrote:

> > That is the reason why the recent change to add ACPI support to fixed
> > regulators was done
> > (https://github.com/torvalds/linux/blob/master/drivers/regulator/fixed.c#L100).

> To be honest, I'm surprised this got merged.

My understanding was that it was instantiated from another device as an
implementation detail of that device, letting it say "this GPIO should
be handled as a regulator".

> Mark, this was added in this cycle; can we please rip that out for now?

If it's instantiated directly we probably should.

> We can certainly come up with something that allows drivers to support
> both, but trying to do this without updating drivers opens a huge set of
> problems.

I think there's a reasonable chance that any ACPI specs could be written
in such a way as to allow transparent support in Linux, the main thing
I'd worry about is naming issues.

Download attachment "signature.asc" of type "application/pgp-signature" (489 bytes)

Powered by blists - more mailing lists