lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 25 Jan 2017 12:23:51 -0800
From:   Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@...ux.intel.com>
To:     Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>,
        Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>, Borislav Petkov <bp@...e.de>
Cc:     Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Brian Gerst <brgerst@...il.com>,
        Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@...lanox.com>,
        Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...ux.intel.com>,
        Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
        Liang Z Li <liang.z.li@...el.com>,
        Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@...nel.org>,
        Huang Rui <ray.huang@....com>, Jiri Slaby <jslaby@...e.cz>,
        Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
        "Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@...hat.com>,
        Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@...driver.com>,
        Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@...e.cz>,
        Chen Yucong <slaoub@...il.com>,
        Alexandre Julliard <julliard@...ehq.org>,
        Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@...el.com>, Stas Sergeev <stsp@...t.ru>,
        "Ravi V. Shankar" <ravi.v.shankar@...el.com>,
        Shuah Khan <shuah@...nel.org>, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        x86@...nel.org, linux-msdos@...r.kernel.org, wine-devel@...ehq.org,
        Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@...ux.intel.com>,
        Tony Luck <tony.luck@...el.com>
Subject: [v3 PATCH 08/10] x86/traps: Fixup general protection faults caused by UMIP

If the User-Mode Instruction Prevention CPU feature is available and
enabled, a general protection fault will be issued if the instructions
sgdt, sldt, sidt, str or smsw are executed from user-mode context
(CPL > 0). If the fault was caused by any of the instructions protected
by UMIP, fixup_umip_exception will emulate dummy results for these
instructions. If emulation is successful, the result is passed to the
user space program and no SIGSEGV signal is emitted.

Please note that fixup_umip_exception also caters for the case when
the fault originated while running in virtual-8086 mode.

Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@...or.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@...e.de>
Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@...il.com>
Cc: Chen Yucong <slaoub@...il.com>
Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@...lanox.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...ux.intel.com>
Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@...el.com>
Cc: Huang Rui <ray.huang@....com>
Cc: Jiri Slaby <jslaby@...e.cz>
Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>
Cc: Michael S. Tsirkin <mst@...hat.com>
Cc: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@...driver.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>
Cc: Ravi V. Shankar <ravi.v.shankar@...el.com>
Cc: Shuah Khan <shuah@...nel.org>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@...e.cz>
Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@...el.com>
Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>
Cc: Liang Z. Li <liang.z.li@...el.com>
Cc: Alexandre Julliard <julliard@...ehq.org>
Cc: Stas Sergeev <stsp@...t.ru>
Cc: x86@...nel.org
Cc: linux-msdos@...r.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@...ux.intel.com>
---
 arch/x86/kernel/traps.c | 4 ++++
 1 file changed, 4 insertions(+)

diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/traps.c b/arch/x86/kernel/traps.c
index bf0c6d0..1da2f8d 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/traps.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/traps.c
@@ -64,6 +64,7 @@
 #include <asm/trace/mpx.h>
 #include <asm/mpx.h>
 #include <asm/vm86.h>
+#include <asm/umip.h>
 
 #ifdef CONFIG_X86_64
 #include <asm/x86_init.h>
@@ -491,6 +492,9 @@ do_general_protection(struct pt_regs *regs, long error_code)
 	RCU_LOCKDEP_WARN(!rcu_is_watching(), "entry code didn't wake RCU");
 	cond_local_irq_enable(regs);
 
+	if (user_mode(regs) && (fixup_umip_exception(regs) == true))
+		return;
+
 	if (v8086_mode(regs)) {
 		local_irq_enable();
 		handle_vm86_fault((struct kernel_vm86_regs *) regs, error_code);
-- 
2.9.3

Powered by blists - more mailing lists