lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 25 Jan 2017 12:34:07 -0800
From:   "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>
To:     Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@...ux.intel.com>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>, Borislav Petkov <bp@...e.de>
Cc:     Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Brian Gerst <brgerst@...il.com>,
        Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@...lanox.com>,
        Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...ux.intel.com>,
        Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
        Liang Z Li <liang.z.li@...el.com>,
        Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@...nel.org>,
        Huang Rui <ray.huang@....com>, Jiri Slaby <jslaby@...e.cz>,
        Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
        "Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@...hat.com>,
        Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@...driver.com>,
        Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@...e.cz>,
        Chen Yucong <slaoub@...il.com>,
        Alexandre Julliard <julliard@...ehq.org>,
        Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@...el.com>, Stas Sergeev <stsp@...t.ru>,
        "Ravi V. Shankar" <ravi.v.shankar@...el.com>,
        Shuah Khan <shuah@...nel.org>, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        x86@...nel.org, linux-msdos@...r.kernel.org, wine-devel@...ehq.org
Subject: Re: [v3 PATCH 00/10] x86: Enable User-Mode Instruction Prevention

On 01/25/17 12:23, Ricardo Neri wrote:
>  * SMSW returns the value with which the CR0 register is programmed in
>    head_32/64.S at boot time. This is, the following bits are enabed:
>    CR0.0 for Protection Enable, CR.1 for Monitor Coprocessor, CR.4 for
>    Extension Type, which will always be 1 in recent processors with UMIP;
>    CR.5 for Numeric Error, CR0.16 for Write Protect, CR0.18 for Alignment
>    Mask. Additionally, in x86_64, CR0.31 for Paging is set.

SMSW only returns CR0[15:0], so the reference here to CR0[31:16] seems odd.

	-hpa


Powered by blists - more mailing lists