lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 25 Jan 2017 15:27:55 -0800
From:   Dmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@...il.com>
To:     Al Stone <ahs3@...hat.com>
Cc:     Mark Brown <broonie@...nel.org>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Furquan Shaikh <furquan@...omium.org>,
        "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael@...nel.org>,
        "Rafael J . Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>,
        Liam Girdwood <lgirdwood@...il.com>,
        Tony Lindgren <tony@...mide.com>, Len Brown <lenb@...nel.org>,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Lorenzo Pieralisi <lorenzo.pieralisi@....com>,
        Hanjun Guo <hanjun.guo@...aro.org>,
        Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>,
        Rob Herring <robh@...nel.org>,
        Sathyanarayana Nujella <sathyanarayana.nujella@...el.com>,
        Heikki Krogerus <heikki.krogerus@...ux.intel.com>,
        Adam Thomson <Adam.Thomson.Opensource@...semi.com>,
        Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@...aro.org>,
        Alexandre Courbot <gnurou@...il.com>,
        linux-gpio@...r.kernel.org,
        ACPI Devel Maling List <linux-acpi@...r.kernel.org>,
        Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Linux OMAP Mailing List <linux-omap@...r.kernel.org>,
        Aaron Durbin <adurbin@...omium.org>, dlaurie@...omium.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH 0/7] Implement generic regulator constraints parsing for
 ACPI and OF

On Wed, Jan 25, 2017 at 02:44:10PM -0700, Al Stone wrote:
> 
> But, to the point of some of the other discussion on the thread, this ACPI sort
> of power management is a very, very different model than DT so that intertwining
> the two models is highly unlikely to work, IMHO.

And yet this is something that is sorely needed. If you look, for
example, at drivers in drivers/input/*, then all non-SOC-specific
devices can easily find their way onto both ACPI-based and DT-based
systems (not mentioning legacy-style boards). Having two distinct power
schemes implemented in drivers will lead to many problems.

Having unified way of describing hardware is how _DSD came about, right?
Nobody wanted to write and maintain and test two separate ways of
describing properties when one was already implemented and working.

Thanks.

-- 
Dmitry

Powered by blists - more mailing lists