lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Sun, 12 Feb 2017 16:03:35 +0000
From:   Chris Wilson <chris@...is-wilson.co.uk>
To:     linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Cc:     intel-gfx@...ts.freedesktop.org,
        Tvrtko Ursulin <tvrtko.ursulin@...el.com>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Hannes Reinecke <hare@...e.com>, Jens Axboe <axboe@...nel.dk>,
        Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@...gle.com>,
        Alexander Potapenko <glider@...gle.com>,
        Chen Fan <chen.fan.fnst@...fujitsu.com>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>,
        "Peter Zijlstra (Intel)" <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Sebastian Andrzej Siewior <bigeasy@...utronix.de>,
        Johannes Thumshirn <jthumshirn@...e.de>,
        Emese Revfy <re.emese@...il.com>,
        Sagi Grimberg <sagi@...mberg.me>,
        Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>,
        Tom Herbert <therbert@...gle.com>,
        Ben Hutchings <bhutchings@...arflare.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3] softirq: Prevent looping on disabled tasklets

On Sun, Feb 12, 2017 at 03:46:09PM +0000, Chris Wilson wrote:
> +void tasklet_enable(struct tasklet_struct *t)
> +{
> +	if (!atomic_dec_and_test(&t->count))
> +		return;
> +
> +	if (test_bit(TASKLET_STATE_SCHED, &t->state))
> +		raise_softirq(HI_SOFTIRQ | TASKLET_SOFTIRQ);

And of course this can't work as raise_softirq() is local to the cpu.
-Chris

-- 
Chris Wilson, Intel Open Source Technology Centre

Powered by blists - more mailing lists