lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Sun, 12 Feb 2017 21:48:59 +0100
From:   Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@...aro.org>
To:     Paul Cercueil <paul@...pouillou.net>,
        Mika Westerberg <mika.westerberg@...ux.intel.com>
Cc:     Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Ralf Baechle <ralf@...ux-mips.org>,
        Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@...aro.org>,
        Boris Brezillon <boris.brezillon@...e-electrons.com>,
        Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@...il.com>,
        Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz <b.zolnierkie@...sung.com>,
        Maarten ter Huurne <maarten@...ewalker.org>,
        Lars-Peter Clausen <lars@...afoo.de>,
        Paul Burton <paul.burton@...tec.com>,
        "linux-gpio@...r.kernel.org" <linux-gpio@...r.kernel.org>,
        "devicetree@...r.kernel.org" <devicetree@...r.kernel.org>,
        "linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Linux MIPS <linux-mips@...ux-mips.org>,
        "linux-mmc@...r.kernel.org" <linux-mmc@...r.kernel.org>,
        "linux-mtd@...ts.infradead.org" <linux-mtd@...ts.infradead.org>,
        "linux-pwm@...r.kernel.org" <linux-pwm@...r.kernel.org>,
        "linux-fbdev@...r.kernel.org" <linux-fbdev@...r.kernel.org>,
        James Hogan <james.hogan@...tec.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 04/14] GPIO: Add gpio-ingenic driver

On Thu, Feb 9, 2017 at 6:14 PM, Paul Cercueil <paul@...pouillou.net> wrote:

>> If you're not just replacing these with GPIO_GENERIC, please also
>> include a .get_direction() callback.
>
> My .direction_input() and .direction_output() callbacks just call into
> the pinctrl driver, using pinctrl_gpio_direction_[in,out]put().
> I didn't find a way to get the direction info from the pinctrl driver,
> is that something that the core should provide?

Hm OK you have a clear point there, there is no such callback.

OK I do not require you to fix that at this time.

I am hesitant about providing ever more callbacks from GPIO
to pin control, I might need some help for consolidation here.

With Mika's patches we have a .set_config() call to
pinctrl_gpio_set_config() so essentially
we *could* actually refactor all pin control drivers providing
a GPIO back-end to use:

pinctrl_gpio_set_config(gpio, PIN_CONF_PACKED(PIN_CONFIG_INPUT_ENABLE, 0));
pinctrl_gpio_set_config(gpio, PIN_CONF_PACKED(PIN_CONFIG_OUTPUT, val));

And replace the calls to pinctrl_gpio_direction_input()
and pinctrl_gpio_direction_output() with this throughout.

It makes things a bit simpler. If we need to figure things
out the reverse direction then pinctrl_gpio_get_config()
should be implemented and used as back-end for
figuring out direction.

Yours,
Linus Walleij

Powered by blists - more mailing lists