lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Sat, 18 Feb 2017 08:45:33 +0100
From:   Andreas Kemnade <andreas@...nade.info>
To:     Dmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@...il.com>
Cc:     "H. Nikolaus Schaller" <hns@...delico.com>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Andrey Gelman <andrey.gelman@...pulab.co.il>,
        Michel Verlaan <michel.verl@...il.com>,
        Nick Dyer <nick@...anahar.org>,
        Tony Lindgren <tony@...mide.com>, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        Benjamin Tissoires <benjamin.tissoires@...hat.com>,
        Pavel Machek <pavel@....cz>, linux-omap@...r.kernel.org,
        Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        Aaro Koskinen <aaro.koskinen@...ia.com>,
        Javier Martinez Canillas <javier@....samsung.com>,
        Igor Grinberg <grinberg@...pulab.co.il>,
        Hans Verkuil <hans.verkuil@...co.com>,
        linux-input@...r.kernel.org, devicetree@...r.kernel.org,
        Pali Rohár <pali.rohar@...il.com>,
        Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
        Eric Engestrom <eric@...estrom.ch>,
        Hans de Goede <hdegoede@...hat.com>,
        Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
        Mika Penttilä <mika.penttila@...tfour.com>,
        Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@...nel.org>,
        Petr Cvek <petr.cvek@....cz>,
        Siebren Vroegindeweij <siebren.vroegindeweij@...mail.com>,
        Haibo Chen <haibo.chen@...escale.com>,
        Sebastian Reichel <sre@...nel.org>, linux-iio@...r.kernel.org,
        "Andrew F. Davis" <afd@...com>, Mark Brown <broonie@...nel.org>,
        Benoît Cousson 
        <bcousson@...libre.com>, kernel@...a-handheld.com,
        Michael Welling <mwelling@...e.org>,
        letux-kernel@...nphoenux.org, Jonathan Cameron <jic23@...nel.org>,
        Alexander Stein <alexander.stein@...tec-electronic.com>
Subject: Re: [Letux-kernel] [PATCH v9 1/8] drivers:input:tsc2007: add new
 common binding names, pre-calibration, flipping and rotation

Hi Dmitry,

On Fri, 17 Feb 2017 12:40:41 -0800
Dmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@...il.com> wrote:

[...] 
> > Let me cite myself:
> > 
> > >> This makes it possible to pre-calibrate the touch so that is
> > >> (almost)
> 
> Yes, it allows you to pre-calibrate, I get it. But you still do
> properly calibrate later, right? So you are doing double work here,
> once in kernel, and second time in userspace.
> 
I as a daily user of that tsc2007 patch series say that I had never the
wish to calibrate it later in a better way. I am doing console work
with a virtual keyboard on it. So it is rarely double work here.

Regards,
Andreas

Content of type "application/pgp-signature" skipped

Powered by blists - more mailing lists