lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Mon, 20 Feb 2017 13:28:38 +0100
From:   Boris Brezillon <boris.brezillon@...e-electrons.com>
To:     Boris Brezillon <boris.brezillon@...e-electrons.com>,
        Richard Weinberger <richard@....at>,
        linux-mtd@...ts.infradead.org,
        Nicolas Ferre <nicolas.ferre@...el.com>,
        Alexandre Belloni <alexandre.belloni@...e-electrons.com>,
        Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@...il.com>,
        Hans-Christian Egtvedt <egtvedt@...fundet.no>,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, Wenyou Yang <wenyou.yang@...el.com>,
        Josh Wu <rainyfeeling@...look.com>
Cc:     David Woodhouse <dwmw2@...radead.org>,
        Brian Norris <computersforpeace@...il.com>,
        Marek Vasut <marek.vasut@...il.com>,
        Cyrille Pitchen <cyrille.pitchen@...el.com>,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
        Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
        Pawel Moll <pawel.moll@....com>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Ian Campbell <ijc+devicetree@...lion.org.uk>,
        Kumar Gala <galak@...eaurora.org>, devicetree@...r.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH v2 3/3] mtd: nand: Remove unused chip->write_page() hook

The last/only user of the chip->write_page() hook (the Atmel NAND
controller driver) has been reworked and is no longer specifying a custom
->write_page() implementation.
Drop this hook before someone else start abusing it.

Signed-off-by: Boris Brezillon <boris.brezillon@...e-electrons.com>
---
 drivers/mtd/nand/nand_base.c | 10 ++++------
 include/linux/mtd/nand.h     |  4 ----
 2 files changed, 4 insertions(+), 10 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/mtd/nand/nand_base.c b/drivers/mtd/nand/nand_base.c
index ec1c28aaaf23..c8894f31392e 100644
--- a/drivers/mtd/nand/nand_base.c
+++ b/drivers/mtd/nand/nand_base.c
@@ -2839,9 +2839,10 @@ static int nand_do_write_ops(struct mtd_info *mtd, loff_t to,
 			/* We still need to erase leftover OOB data */
 			memset(chip->oob_poi, 0xff, mtd->oobsize);
 		}
-		ret = chip->write_page(mtd, chip, column, bytes, wbuf,
-					oob_required, page, cached,
-					(ops->mode == MTD_OPS_RAW));
+
+		ret = nand_write_page(mtd, chip, column, bytes, wbuf,
+				      oob_required, page, cached,
+				      (ops->mode == MTD_OPS_RAW));
 		if (ret)
 			break;
 
@@ -4623,9 +4624,6 @@ int nand_scan_tail(struct mtd_info *mtd)
 		}
 	}
 
-	if (!chip->write_page)
-		chip->write_page = nand_write_page;
-
 	/*
 	 * Check ECC mode, default to software if 3byte/512byte hardware ECC is
 	 * selected and we have 256 byte pagesize fallback to software ECC
diff --git a/include/linux/mtd/nand.h b/include/linux/mtd/nand.h
index c5f3a012ae62..9d51dee53be4 100644
--- a/include/linux/mtd/nand.h
+++ b/include/linux/mtd/nand.h
@@ -818,7 +818,6 @@ nand_get_sdr_timings(const struct nand_data_interface *conf)
  * @errstat:		[OPTIONAL] hardware specific function to perform
  *			additional error status checks (determine if errors are
  *			correctable).
- * @write_page:		[REPLACEABLE] High-level page write function
  */
 
 struct nand_chip {
@@ -843,9 +842,6 @@ struct nand_chip {
 	int (*scan_bbt)(struct mtd_info *mtd);
 	int (*errstat)(struct mtd_info *mtd, struct nand_chip *this, int state,
 			int status, int page);
-	int (*write_page)(struct mtd_info *mtd, struct nand_chip *chip,
-			uint32_t offset, int data_len, const uint8_t *buf,
-			int oob_required, int page, int cached, int raw);
 	int (*onfi_set_features)(struct mtd_info *mtd, struct nand_chip *chip,
 			int feature_addr, uint8_t *subfeature_para);
 	int (*onfi_get_features)(struct mtd_info *mtd, struct nand_chip *chip,
-- 
2.7.4

Powered by blists - more mailing lists