lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Mon, 20 Feb 2017 23:04:22 +0100
From:   Pali Rohár <pali.rohar@...il.com>
To:     "H. Nikolaus Schaller" <hns@...delico.com>
Cc:     Dmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@...il.com>,
        Sebastian Reichel <sre@...nel.org>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Benoît Cousson <bcousson@...libre.com>,
        Tony Lindgren <tony@...mide.com>,
        Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
        Michael Welling <mwelling@...e.org>,
        Mika Penttilä <mika.penttila@...tfour.com>,
        Javier Martinez Canillas <javier@....samsung.com>,
        Igor Grinberg <grinberg@...pulab.co.il>,
        "Andrew F. Davis" <afd@...com>, Mark Brown <broonie@...nel.org>,
        Jonathan Cameron <jic23@...nel.org>,
        Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
        Alexander Stein <alexander.stein@...tec-electronic.com>,
        Eric Engestrom <eric@...estrom.ch>,
        Hans de Goede <hdegoede@...hat.com>,
        Benjamin Tissoires <benjamin.tissoires@...hat.com>,
        Petr Cvek <petr.cvek@....cz>,
        Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@...nel.org>,
        Hans Verkuil <hans.verkuil@...co.com>,
        Nick Dyer <nick@...anahar.org>,
        Siebren Vroegindeweij <siebren.vroegindeweij@...mail.com>,
        Michel Verlaan <michel.verl@...il.com>,
        linux-input@...r.kernel.org, devicetree@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, linux-omap@...r.kernel.org,
        letux-kernel@...nphoenux.org, linux-iio@...r.kernel.org,
        kernel@...a-handheld.com, Aaro Koskinen <aaro.koskinen@...ia.com>,
        Pavel Machek <pavel@....cz>,
        Andrey Gelman <andrey.gelman@...pulab.co.il>,
        Haibo Chen <haibo.chen@...escale.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v9 1/8] drivers:input:tsc2007: add new common binding names, pre-calibration, flipping and rotation

On Monday 20 February 2017 22:27:39 H. Nikolaus Schaller wrote:
> > Am 20.02.2017 um 22:08 schrieb Pali Rohár <pali.rohar@...il.com>:
> > 
> > On Monday 20 February 2017 20:42:15 Pali Rohár wrote:
> >> While I'm watching this discussion... in my opinion kernel should
> >> just invert input axes (when needed)
> 
> It is questionable why it should do that at all then.
> 
> User-Space can also easily do it. Either the driver should provide
> raw data only or if it does pre-processing (scaling by +/-1), why
> exclude pre-scaling by other factors?

Via resolution property which is in that EVIOCSABS ioctl() you specify 
value which represent unit per mm. So you cannot do full rescaling like 
via affine transformation. Specially you cannot swap axes or invert it.

As such thing is not supported by current kernel <--> userspace API it 
needs to be done in kernel.

Moreover I see that this is already handled by kernel's of_touchscreen.c 
code via DT properties: touchscreen-inverted-* touchscreen-swapped-x-y

And... I'm not sure but I think that linux exports absolute input 
devices with coordinates where point (0,0) is mapped as left upper 
corner.

> >> and should not do any other
> >> normalization or integer/floating-point
> >> re-calibration/re-calculation. If it correctly exports minimum
> >> value, maximum value and resolution then userspace can correctly
> >> re-scale input events to units which userspace needs (e.g. mapping
> >> into LCD screen pixels or whatever is needed).

-- 
Pali Rohár
pali.rohar@...il.com

Download attachment "signature.asc " of type "application/pgp-signature" (199 bytes)

Powered by blists - more mailing lists