lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 21 Feb 2017 11:57:23 +0100
From:   Marc Gonzalez <marc_gonzalez@...madesigns.com>
To:     Boris Brezillon <boris.brezillon@...e-electrons.com>,
        Richard Weinberger <richard@....at>,
        <linux-mtd@...ts.infradead.org>,
        Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@...gutronix.de>,
        Sergio Prado <sergio.prado@...abworks.com>,
        "Wenyou Yang" <wenyou.yang@...el.com>,
        Josh Wu <rainyfeeling@...look.com>
CC:     David Woodhouse <dwmw2@...radead.org>,
        Brian Norris <computersforpeace@...il.com>,
        Marek Vasut <marek.vasut@...il.com>,
        "Cyrille Pitchen" <cyrille.pitchen@...el.com>,
        Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzk@...nel.org>,
        <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
        <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [RESEND PATCH 1/3] mtd: nand: Pass the CS line to
 ->setup_data_interface()

On 20/02/2017 22:12, Boris Brezillon wrote:

> Some NAND controllers can assign different NAND timings to different
> CS lines. Pass the CS line information to ->setup_data_interface() so
> that the NAND controller driver knows which CS line is concerned by
> the setup_data_interface() request.

I'm confused, because I thought I was already doing that.
On my platform, I have different timings for each chip.
(thus, for each CS, right?)

In chip->select_chip, I program the appropriate timings
which the controller will be using.

What am I missing?

> diff --git a/drivers/mtd/nand/nand_base.c b/drivers/mtd/nand/nand_base.c
> index c8894f31392e..d62a1c7c5c5c 100644
> --- a/drivers/mtd/nand/nand_base.c
> +++ b/drivers/mtd/nand/nand_base.c
> @@ -1100,8 +1102,10 @@ static int nand_init_data_interface(struct nand_chip *chip)
>  		if (ret)
>  			continue;
>  
> -		ret = chip->setup_data_interface(mtd, chip->data_interface,
> -						 true);
> +		/* Pass -1 to only */

"Pass -1 to only" what?

I suppose -1 means NAND_DATA_IFACE_CHECK_ONLY since
#define NAND_DATA_IFACE_CHECK_ONLY -1

Maybe you meant "Pass -1 to check only" here?
The comment may need a slight rework.

> +		ret = chip->setup_data_interface(mtd,
> +						 NAND_DATA_IFACE_CHECK_ONLY,
> +						 chip->data_interface);
>  		if (!ret) {
>  			chip->onfi_timing_mode_default = mode;
>  			break;

Powered by blists - more mailing lists