lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 22 Feb 2017 22:36:51 -0800
From:   Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@...ux.intel.com>
To:     Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>,
        Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>, Borislav Petkov <bp@...e.de>
Cc:     Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Brian Gerst <brgerst@...il.com>,
        Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@...lanox.com>,
        Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...ux.intel.com>,
        Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
        Liang Z Li <liang.z.li@...el.com>,
        Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@...nel.org>,
        Huang Rui <ray.huang@....com>, Jiri Slaby <jslaby@...e.cz>,
        Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
        "Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@...hat.com>,
        Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@...driver.com>,
        Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@...e.cz>,
        Chen Yucong <slaoub@...il.com>,
        Alexandre Julliard <julliard@...ehq.org>,
        Stas Sergeev <stsp@...t.ru>, Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@...el.com>,
        "Ravi V. Shankar" <ravi.v.shankar@...el.com>,
        Shuah Khan <shuah@...nel.org>, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        x86@...nel.org, linux-msdos@...r.kernel.org, wine-devel@...ehq.org,
        Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@...ux.intel.com>,
        Adam Buchbinder <adam.buchbinder@...il.com>,
        Colin Ian King <colin.king@...onical.com>,
        Lorenzo Stoakes <lstoakes@...il.com>,
        Qiaowei Ren <qiaowei.ren@...el.com>
Subject: [PATCH v4 02/17] x86/mpx: Do not use R/EBP as base in the SIB byte with Mod = 0

Section 2.2.1.2 of the Intel 64 and IA-32 Architectures Software
Developer's Manual volume 2A states that when a SIB byte is used and the
base of the SIB byte points to R/EBP (i.e., base = 5) and the mod part
of the ModRM byte is zero, the value of such register will not be used
as part of the address computation. To signal this, a -EDOM error is
returned to indicate callers that they should ignore the value.

Also, for this particular case, a displacement of 32-bits should follow
the SIB byte if the mod part of ModRM is equal to zero. The instruction
decoder ensures that this is the case.

Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...ux.intel.com>
Cc: Adam Buchbinder <adam.buchbinder@...il.com>
Cc: Colin Ian King <colin.king@...onical.com>
Cc: Lorenzo Stoakes <lstoakes@...il.com>
Cc: Qiaowei Ren <qiaowei.ren@...el.com>
Cc: Ravi V. Shankar <ravi.v.shankar@...el.com>
Cc: x86@...nel.org
Signed-off-by: Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@...ux.intel.com>
---
 arch/x86/mm/mpx.c | 30 +++++++++++++++++++++++-------
 1 file changed, 23 insertions(+), 7 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/x86/mm/mpx.c b/arch/x86/mm/mpx.c
index 6a034bc..f660ddf 100644
--- a/arch/x86/mm/mpx.c
+++ b/arch/x86/mm/mpx.c
@@ -121,6 +121,17 @@ static int get_reg_offset(struct insn *insn, struct pt_regs *regs,
 
 	case REG_TYPE_BASE:
 		regno = X86_SIB_BASE(insn->sib.value);
+		/*
+		 * If mod is 0 and register R/EBP (regno=5) is indicated in the
+		 * base part of the SIB byte, the value of such register should
+		 * not be used in the address computation. Also, a 32-bit
+		 * displacement is expected in this case; the instruction
+		 * decoder takes care of it. This is true for both R13 and
+		 * R/EBP as REX.B will not be decoded.
+		 */
+		if (regno == 5 && X86_MODRM_MOD(insn->modrm.value) == 0)
+			return -EDOM;
+
 		if (X86_REX_B(insn->rex_prefix.value))
 			regno += 8;
 		break;
@@ -160,16 +171,22 @@ static void __user *mpx_get_addr_ref(struct insn *insn, struct pt_regs *regs)
 		addr = regs_get_register(regs, addr_offset);
 	} else {
 		if (insn->sib.nbytes) {
+			/*
+			 * Negative values in the base and index offset means
+			 * an error when decoding the SIB byte. Except -EDOM,
+			 * which means that the registers should not be used
+			 * in the address computation.
+			 */
 			base_offset = get_reg_offset(insn, regs, REG_TYPE_BASE);
 			if (base_offset < 0)
-				goto out_err;
+				if (base_offset == -EDOM)
+					base = 0;
+				else
+					goto out_err;
+			else
+				base = regs_get_register(regs, base_offset);
 
 			indx_offset = get_reg_offset(insn, regs, REG_TYPE_INDEX);
-			/*
-			 * A negative offset generally means a error, except
-			 * -EDOM, which means that the contents of the register
-			 * should not be used as index.
-			 */
 			if (indx_offset < 0)
 				if (indx_offset == -EDOM)
 					indx = 0;
@@ -178,7 +195,6 @@ static void __user *mpx_get_addr_ref(struct insn *insn, struct pt_regs *regs)
 			else
 				indx = regs_get_register(regs, indx_offset);
 
-			base = regs_get_register(regs, base_offset);
 			addr = base + indx * (1 << X86_SIB_SCALE(sib));
 		} else {
 			addr_offset = get_reg_offset(insn, regs, REG_TYPE_RM);
-- 
2.9.3

Powered by blists - more mailing lists