lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 22 Feb 2017 22:36:55 -0800
From:   Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@...ux.intel.com>
To:     Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>,
        Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>, Borislav Petkov <bp@...e.de>
Cc:     Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Brian Gerst <brgerst@...il.com>,
        Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@...lanox.com>,
        Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...ux.intel.com>,
        Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
        Liang Z Li <liang.z.li@...el.com>,
        Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@...nel.org>,
        Huang Rui <ray.huang@....com>, Jiri Slaby <jslaby@...e.cz>,
        Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
        "Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@...hat.com>,
        Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@...driver.com>,
        Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@...e.cz>,
        Chen Yucong <slaoub@...il.com>,
        Alexandre Julliard <julliard@...ehq.org>,
        Stas Sergeev <stsp@...t.ru>, Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@...el.com>,
        "Ravi V. Shankar" <ravi.v.shankar@...el.com>,
        Shuah Khan <shuah@...nel.org>, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        x86@...nel.org, linux-msdos@...r.kernel.org, wine-devel@...ehq.org,
        Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@...ux.intel.com>,
        Adam Buchbinder <adam.buchbinder@...il.com>,
        Colin Ian King <colin.king@...onical.com>,
        Lorenzo Stoakes <lstoakes@...il.com>,
        Qiaowei Ren <qiaowei.ren@...el.com>,
        Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@...hat.com>,
        Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@...el.com>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>,
        Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@...gle.com>
Subject: [PATCH v4 06/17] x86/insn-eval: Add utility function to get segment descriptor

The segment descriptor contains information that is relevant to how linear
address need to be computed. It contains the default size of addresses as
well as the base address of the segment. Thus, given a segment selector,
we ought look at segment descriptor to correctly calculate the linear
address.

In protected mode, the segment selector might indicate a segment
descriptor from either the global descriptor table or a local descriptor
table. Both cases are considered in this function.

This function is the initial implementation for subsequent functions that
will obtain the aforementioned attributes of the segment descriptor.

Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...ux.intel.com>
Cc: Adam Buchbinder <adam.buchbinder@...il.com>
Cc: Colin Ian King <colin.king@...onical.com>
Cc: Lorenzo Stoakes <lstoakes@...il.com>
Cc: Qiaowei Ren <qiaowei.ren@...el.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@...hat.com>
Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@...nel.org>
Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@...el.com>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
Cc: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@...e.de>
Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@...gle.com>
Cc: Ravi V. Shankar <ravi.v.shankar@...el.com>
Cc: x86@...nel.org
Signed-off-by: Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@...ux.intel.com>
---
 arch/x86/lib/insn-eval.c | 61 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
 1 file changed, 61 insertions(+)

diff --git a/arch/x86/lib/insn-eval.c b/arch/x86/lib/insn-eval.c
index 516902e..e6d5dfb 100644
--- a/arch/x86/lib/insn-eval.c
+++ b/arch/x86/lib/insn-eval.c
@@ -5,9 +5,13 @@
  */
 #include <linux/kernel.h>
 #include <linux/string.h>
+#include <asm/desc_defs.h>
+#include <asm/desc.h>
 #include <asm/inat.h>
 #include <asm/insn.h>
 #include <asm/insn-eval.h>
+#include <asm/ldt.h>
+#include <linux/mmu_context.h>
 #include <asm/vm86.h>
 
 enum reg_type {
@@ -262,6 +266,63 @@ static int get_reg_offset(struct insn *insn, struct pt_regs *regs,
 }
 
 /**
+ * get_desc() - Obtain address of segment descriptor
+ * @seg:	Segment selector
+ * @desc:	Pointer to the selected segment descriptor
+ *
+ * Given a segment selector, obtain a memory pointer to the segment
+ * descriptor. Both global and local descriptor tables are supported.
+ * desc will contain the address of the descriptor.
+ *
+ * Return: 0 if success, -EINVAL if failure
+ */
+static int get_desc(unsigned short seg, struct desc_struct **desc)
+{
+	struct desc_ptr gdt_desc = {0, 0};
+	unsigned long desc_base;
+
+	if (!desc)
+		return -EINVAL;
+
+	desc_base = seg & ~(SEGMENT_RPL_MASK | SEGMENT_TI_MASK);
+
+#ifdef CONFIG_MODIFY_LDT_SYSCALL
+	if ((seg & SEGMENT_TI_MASK) == SEGMENT_LDT) {
+		seg >>= 3;
+
+		mutex_lock(&current->active_mm->context.lock);
+		if (unlikely(!current->active_mm->context.ldt ||
+			     seg >= current->active_mm->context.ldt->size)) {
+			*desc = NULL;
+			mutex_unlock(&current->active_mm->context.lock);
+			return -EINVAL;
+		}
+
+		*desc = &current->active_mm->context.ldt->entries[seg];
+		mutex_unlock(&current->active_mm->context.lock);
+		return 0;
+	}
+#endif
+	native_store_gdt(&gdt_desc);
+
+	/*
+	 * Bits [15:3] of the segment selector contain the index. Such
+	 * index needs to be multiplied by 8. However, as the index
+	 * least significant bit is already in bit 3, we don't have
+	 * to perform the multiplication.
+	 */
+	desc_base = seg & ~(SEGMENT_RPL_MASK | SEGMENT_TI_MASK);
+
+	if (desc_base > gdt_desc.size) {
+		*desc = NULL;
+		return -EINVAL;
+	}
+
+	*desc = (struct desc_struct *)(gdt_desc.address + desc_base);
+	return 0;
+}
+
+/**
  * insn_get_reg_offset_modrm_rm - Obtain register in r/m part of ModRM byte
  * @insn:	Instruction structure containing the ModRM byte
  * @regs:	Set of registers indicated by the ModRM byte
-- 
2.9.3

Powered by blists - more mailing lists