lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 04 Apr 2017 11:48:02 +0200
From:   Lucas Stach <l.stach@...gutronix.de>
To:     Leonard Crestez <leonard.crestez@....com>
Cc:     "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>,
        Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@...aro.org>,
        Shawn Guo <shawnguo@...nel.org>,
        Sascha Hauer <kernel@...gutronix.de>,
        Mark Brown <broonie@...nel.org>,
        Robin Gong <yibin.gong@....com>,
        Anson Huang <Anson.Huang@....com>,
        Irina Tirdea <irina.tirdea@....com>,
        Fabio Estevam <fabio.estevam@....com>,
        Octavian Purdila <octavian.purdila@....com>,
        Liam Girdwood <lgirdwood@...il.com>, linux-pm@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH 2/5] cpufreq: imx6q: Fix handling EPROBE_DEFER from
 regulator

Am Freitag, den 31.03.2017, 22:25 +0300 schrieb Leonard Crestez:
> From: Irina Tirdea <irina.tirdea@....com>
> 
> If there are any errors in getting the cpu0 regulators, the driver returns
> -ENOENT. In case the regulators are not yet available, the devm_regulator_get
> calls will return -EPROBE_DEFER, so that the driver can be probed later.
> If we return -ENOENT, the driver will fail its initialization and will
> not try to probe again (when the regulators become available).
> 
> Return the actual error received from regulator_get in probe. Print a
> differentiated message in case we need to probe the device later and
> in case we actually failed. Also add a message to inform when the
> driver has been successfully registered.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Irina Tirdea <irina.tirdea@....com>
> Signed-off-by: Leonard Crestez <leonard.crestez@....com>
> Acked-by: Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@...aro.org>

Reviewed-by: Lucas Stach <l.stach@...gutronix.de>

> ---
>  drivers/cpufreq/imx6q-cpufreq.c | 7 +++++++
>  1 file changed, 7 insertions(+)
> 
> diff --git a/drivers/cpufreq/imx6q-cpufreq.c b/drivers/cpufreq/imx6q-cpufreq.c
> index 7719b02..be90ee3 100644
> --- a/drivers/cpufreq/imx6q-cpufreq.c
> +++ b/drivers/cpufreq/imx6q-cpufreq.c
> @@ -222,6 +222,13 @@ static int imx6q_cpufreq_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
>  	arm_reg = regulator_get(cpu_dev, "arm");
>  	pu_reg = regulator_get_optional(cpu_dev, "pu");
>  	soc_reg = regulator_get(cpu_dev, "soc");
> +	if (PTR_ERR(arm_reg) == -EPROBE_DEFER ||
> +			PTR_ERR(soc_reg) == -EPROBE_DEFER ||
> +			PTR_ERR(pu_reg) == -EPROBE_DEFER) {
> +		ret = -EPROBE_DEFER;
> +		dev_dbg(cpu_dev, "regulators not ready, defer\n");
> +		goto put_reg;
> +	}
>  	if (IS_ERR(arm_reg) || IS_ERR(soc_reg)) {
>  		dev_err(cpu_dev, "failed to get regulators\n");
>  		ret = -ENOENT;


Powered by blists - more mailing lists