lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 13 Apr 2017 22:19:47 +0200
From:   Radim Krčmář <rkrcmar@...hat.com>
To:     linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, kvm@...r.kernel.org
Cc:     Christoffer Dall <cdall@...aro.org>,
        Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@....com>,
        Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
        Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@...ibm.com>,
        Cornelia Huck <cornelia.huck@...ibm.com>,
        James Hogan <james.hogan@...tec.com>,
        Paul Mackerras <paulus@...abs.org>,
        Alexander Graf <agraf@...e.com>
Subject: [PATCH 0/4] KVM: add KVM_CREATE_VM2 to allow dynamic kvm->vcpus array

The basic idea is to let userspace provide the desired maximal number of
VCPUs and allocate only necessary memory for them.

The goal is to freeze KVM_MAX_VCPUS at its current level and only increase the
new KVM_MAX_CONFIGURABLE_VCPUS, probably directly to INT_MAX/KVM_VCPU_ID, so we
don't have to worry about it for a while.

PPC should be interested in this as they set KVM_MAX_VCPUS to NR_CPUS
and probably waste few pages for every guest this way.


Radim Krčmář (4):
  KVM: remove unused __KVM_HAVE_ARCH_VM_ALLOC
  KVM: allocate kvm->vcpus separately
  KVM: add KVM_CREATE_VM2 system ioctl
  KVM: x86: enable configurable MAX_VCPU

 Documentation/virtual/kvm/api.txt | 28 +++++++++++++++
 arch/x86/include/asm/kvm_host.h   |  1 +
 arch/x86/kvm/irq_comm.c           |  4 +--
 include/linux/kvm_host.h          | 23 +++++-------
 include/uapi/linux/kvm.h          |  8 +++++
 virt/kvm/kvm_main.c               | 76 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++------
 6 files changed, 114 insertions(+), 26 deletions(-)

-- 
2.12.0

Powered by blists - more mailing lists