lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Sat, 13 May 2017 14:54:10 +0200
From:   SF Markus Elfring <elfring@...rs.sourceforge.net>
To:     linux-mmc@...r.kernel.org, Bojan Prtvar <prtvar.b@...il.com>,
        Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@...aro.org>,
        Paul Burton <paul.burton@...tec.com>,
        Shawn Lin <shawn.lin@...k-chips.com>,
        Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@...aro.org>,
        Uri Yanai <uri.yanai@...disk.com>,
        Tomas Winkler <tomas.winkler@...el.com>
Cc:     LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        kernel-janitors@...r.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH] mmc: core: Delete an error message for a failed memory
 allocation in three functions

From: Markus Elfring <elfring@...rs.sourceforge.net>
Date: Sat, 13 May 2017 14:40:08 +0200

Omit an extra message for a memory allocation failure in these functions.

This issue was detected by using the Coccinelle software.

Link: http://events.linuxfoundation.org/sites/events/files/slides/LCJ16-Refactor_Strings-WSang_0.pdf
Signed-off-by: Markus Elfring <elfring@...rs.sourceforge.net>
---
 drivers/mmc/core/sd.c | 16 +++-------------
 1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 13 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/mmc/core/sd.c b/drivers/mmc/core/sd.c
index d109634fbfce..1d7542daecbe 100644
--- a/drivers/mmc/core/sd.c
+++ b/drivers/mmc/core/sd.c
@@ -294,12 +294,8 @@ static int mmc_read_switch(struct mmc_card *card)
 	err = -EIO;
 
 	status = kmalloc(64, GFP_KERNEL);
-	if (!status) {
-		pr_err("%s: could not allocate a buffer for "
-			"switch capabilities.\n",
-			mmc_hostname(card->host));
+	if (!status)
 		return -ENOMEM;
-	}
 
 	/*
 	 * Find out the card's support bits with a mode 0 operation.
@@ -359,11 +355,8 @@ int mmc_sd_switch_hs(struct mmc_card *card)
 		return 0;
 
 	status = kmalloc(64, GFP_KERNEL);
-	if (!status) {
-		pr_err("%s: could not allocate a buffer for "
-			"switch capabilities.\n", mmc_hostname(card->host));
+	if (!status)
 		return -ENOMEM;
-	}
 
 	err = mmc_sd_switch(card, 1, 0, 1, status);
 	if (err)
@@ -596,11 +589,8 @@ static int mmc_sd_init_uhs_card(struct mmc_card *card)
 		return 0;
 
 	status = kmalloc(64, GFP_KERNEL);
-	if (!status) {
-		pr_err("%s: could not allocate a buffer for "
-			"switch capabilities.\n", mmc_hostname(card->host));
+	if (!status)
 		return -ENOMEM;
-	}
 
 	/* Set 4-bit bus width */
 	if ((card->host->caps & MMC_CAP_4_BIT_DATA) &&
-- 
2.12.3

Powered by blists - more mailing lists