lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 30 Aug 2017 14:18:54 +0100
From:   Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>
To:     Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>
Cc:     "linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        "linux-arch@...r.kernel.org" <linux-arch@...r.kernel.org>,
        "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
        Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@...ibm.com>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>,
        Michael Ellerman <mpe@...erman.id.au>,
        Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        "Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@...lyn.com>,
        Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@...gle.com>,
        Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@...nel.crashing.org>,
        Paul Mackerras <paulus@...ba.org>,
        Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
        Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
        James Morris <james.l.morris@...cle.com>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Nicolas Pitre <nico@...aro.org>,
        Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@...ibm.com>,
        Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@...il.com>,
        Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Jessica Yu <jeyu@...nel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 5/5] kernel: tracepoints: add support for relative references

On 30 August 2017 at 14:17, Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org> wrote:
> On Wed, 30 Aug 2017 13:52:26 +0100
> Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org> wrote:
>
>> On 20 August 2017 at 15:51, Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org> wrote:
>> > On Sat, 19 Aug 2017 19:10:35 +0100
>> > Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org> wrote:
>> >
>> >> To avoid the need for relocating absolute references to tracepoint
>> >> structures at boot time when running relocatable kernels (which may
>> >> take a disproportionate amount of space), add the option to emit
>> >> these tables as relative references instead.
>> >>
>> >
>> > This patch looks fine. But I want to test the series before giving it
>> > my Acked-by. I wont be able to do that till Tuesday at the earliest.
>> >
>>
>> I guess this has slipped between the cracks?
>
> Yes it has. Thanks for the reminder. I'm quite overwhelmed after coming
> back from vacation, and getting pulled in various directions.
>
> I'll see if I can run it through some tests today.
>

Thanks, that would be much appreciated.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists