lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Sat, 7 Oct 2017 11:05:41 +0800
From:   Herbert Xu <herbert@...dor.apana.org.au>
To:     Gilad Ben-Yossef <gilad@...yossef.com>
Cc:     "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
        David Howells <dhowells@...hat.com>,
        Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@....com>,
        Gary Hook <gary.hook@....com>,
        Boris Brezillon <boris.brezillon@...e-electrons.com>,
        Arnaud Ebalard <arno@...isbad.org>,
        Matthias Brugger <matthias.bgg@...il.com>,
        Alasdair Kergon <agk@...hat.com>,
        Mike Snitzer <snitzer@...hat.com>, dm-devel@...hat.com,
        Shaohua Li <shli@...nel.org>, Steve French <sfrench@...ba.org>,
        "Theodore Y. Ts'o" <tytso@....edu>,
        Jaegeuk Kim <jaegeuk@...nel.org>,
        Steffen Klassert <steffen.klassert@...unet.com>,
        Alexey Kuznetsov <kuznet@....inr.ac.ru>,
        Hideaki YOSHIFUJI <yoshfuji@...ux-ipv6.org>,
        Mimi Zohar <zohar@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,
        Dmitry Kasatkin <dmitry.kasatkin@...il.com>,
        James Morris <james.l.morris@...cle.com>,
        "Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@...lyn.com>, linux-crypto@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-doc@...r.kernel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        keyrings@...r.kernel.org, linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
        linux-mediatek@...ts.infradead.org, linux-raid@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-cifs@...r.kernel.org, samba-technical@...ts.samba.org,
        linux-fscrypt@...r.kernel.org, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-ima-devel@...ts.sourceforge.net,
        linux-ima-user@...ts.sourceforge.net,
        linux-security-module@...r.kernel.org,
        Ofir Drang <ofir.drang@....com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v8 01/20] crypto: change transient busy return code to
 -EAGAIN

On Tue, Sep 05, 2017 at 03:38:40PM +0300, Gilad Ben-Yossef wrote:
>
> diff --git a/crypto/algif_hash.c b/crypto/algif_hash.c
> index 5e92bd2..3b3c154 100644
> --- a/crypto/algif_hash.c
> +++ b/crypto/algif_hash.c
> @@ -39,6 +39,20 @@ struct algif_hash_tfm {
>  	bool has_key;
>  };
>  
> +/* Previous versions of crypto_* ops used to return -EBUSY
> + * rather than -EAGAIN to indicate being tied up. The in
> + * kernel API changed but we don't want to break the user
> + * space API. As only the hash user interface exposed this
> + * error ever to the user, do the translation here.
> + */
> +static inline int crypto_user_err(int err)
> +{
> +	if (err == -EAGAIN)
> +		return -EBUSY;
> +
> +	return err;

I don't see the need to carry along this baggage.  Does anyone
in user-space actually rely on EBUSY?

Cheers,
-- 
Email: Herbert Xu <herbert@...dor.apana.org.au>
Home Page: http://gondor.apana.org.au/~herbert/
PGP Key: http://gondor.apana.org.au/~herbert/pubkey.txt

Powered by blists - more mailing lists