lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 26 Oct 2017 02:02:02 -0700
From:   Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>
To:     Borislav Petkov <bp@...e.de>
Cc:     Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
        Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@...ux.intel.com>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Brian Gerst <brgerst@...il.com>,
        Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@...lanox.com>,
        Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...ux.intel.com>,
        Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
        Liang Z Li <liang.z.li@...el.com>,
        Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@...nel.org>,
        Huang Rui <ray.huang@....com>, Jiri Slaby <jslaby@...e.cz>,
        Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
        "Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@...hat.com>,
        Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@...driver.com>,
        Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@...e.cz>,
        Chen Yucong <slaoub@...il.com>,
        "Ravi V. Shankar" <ravi.v.shankar@...el.com>,
        Shuah Khan <shuah@...nel.org>,
        "linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        X86 ML <x86@...nel.org>,
        "Neri, Ricardo" <ricardo.neri@...el.com>,
        Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...el.com>,
        Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@...hat.com>,
        Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>,
        Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>,
        linux-arch <linux-arch@...r.kernel.org>,
        "linux-mm@...ck.org" <linux-mm@...ck.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v9 02/29] x86/boot: Relocate definition of the initial
 state of CR0

On Thu, Oct 26, 2017 at 2:00 AM, Borislav Petkov <bp@...e.de> wrote:
> On Thu, Oct 26, 2017 at 12:51:25AM -0700, Andy Lutomirski wrote:
>> with the slight caveat that I think it might be a wee bit better if
>> UMIP emulation used a separate define UMIP_REPORTED_CR0.
>
> Why, do you see CR0_STATE and UMIP_REPORTED_CR0 becoming different at
> some point?

I'm assuming that UMIP_REPORTED_CR0 will never change.  If CR0 gets a
new field that we set some day, then I assume that CR0_STATE would add
that bit but UMIP_REPORTED_CR0 would not.

>
> --
> Regards/Gruss,
>     Boris.
>
> SUSE Linux GmbH, GF: Felix Imend├Ârffer, Jane Smithard, Graham Norton, HRB 21284 (AG N├╝rnberg)
> --

Powered by blists - more mailing lists