lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 26 Oct 2017 13:53:55 +1100
From:   "Tobin C. Harding" <me@...in.cc>
To:     kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com
Cc:     "Tobin C. Harding" <me@...in.cc>,
        "Jason A. Donenfeld" <Jason@...c4.com>,
        Theodore Ts'o <tytso@....edu>,
        Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
        Tycho Andersen <tycho@...ker.com>,
        "Roberts, William C" <william.c.roberts@...el.com>,
        Tejun Heo <tj@...nel.org>,
        Jordan Glover <Golden_Miller83@...tonmail.ch>,
        Greg KH <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>, Joe Perches <joe@...ches.com>,
        Ian Campbell <ijc@...lion.org.uk>,
        Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@...il.com>,
        Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
        Will Deacon <wilal.deacon@....com>,
        Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
        Chris Fries <cfries@...gle.com>,
        Dave Weinstein <olorin@...gle.com>,
        Daniel Micay <danielmicay@...il.com>,
        Djalal Harouni <tixxdz@...il.com>, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH V8 1/2] printk: remove tabular output for NULL pointer

Currently pointer() checks for a NULL pointer argument and then if so
attempts to print "(null)" with _some_ standard width. This width cannot
correctly be ascertained here because many of the printk specifiers
print pointers of varying widths.

Remove the attempt to print NULL pointers with a correct width.

Signed-off-by: Tobin C. Harding <me@...in.cc>
---
 lib/vsprintf.c | 9 +--------
 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 8 deletions(-)

diff --git a/lib/vsprintf.c b/lib/vsprintf.c
index 86c3385b9eb3..16a587aed40e 100644
--- a/lib/vsprintf.c
+++ b/lib/vsprintf.c
@@ -1710,15 +1710,8 @@ char *pointer(const char *fmt, char *buf, char *end, void *ptr,
 {
 	const int default_width = 2 * sizeof(void *);
 
-	if (!ptr && *fmt != 'K') {
-		/*
-		 * Print (null) with the same width as a pointer so it makes
-		 * tabular output look nice.
-		 */
-		if (spec.field_width == -1)
-			spec.field_width = default_width;
+	if (!ptr && *fmt != 'K')
 		return string(buf, end, "(null)", spec);
-	}
 
 	switch (*fmt) {
 	case 'F':
-- 
2.7.4

Powered by blists - more mailing lists