lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 26 Oct 2017 14:17:20 -0700
From:   Siqi Lin <siqilin@...gle.com>
To:     Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>
Cc:     Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
        Jiri Kosina <jikos@...nel.org>,
        "linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>,
        "linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org" 
        <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>, Wei Wang <wvw@...gle.com>,
        Gopinath Elanchezhian <gelanchezhian@...gle.com>,
        spentyala@...gle.com, Rahul Chaudhry <rahulchaudhry@...gle.com>,
        Stephen Hines <srhines@...gle.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] arm64: prevent regressions in compressed kernel image
 size when upgrading to binutils 2.27

On Thu, Oct 26, 2017 at 2:06 PM, Nick Desaulniers
<ndesaulniers@...gle.com> wrote:
>
> + folks in Suggested-by/Reported by lines, since git send-email seems
> to only pull in folks on Signed-off-by line :(
>
> https://lkml.org/lkml/2017/10/26/590

I'm OK with sticking with the <2.27 binutils behavior. The gzip data is:

binutils 2.25:
Image 41467904
Image.gz 13395151
binutils 2.27:
Image 41467392
Image.gz 14114953

gzipped kernel increased by 0.69 MiB.

The one special case I see is !CONFIG_RELOCATABLE and compression is
used, where there's a tradeoff between compressed image size and the
benefit of dynamic relocs.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists