lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 1 Nov 2017 19:41:15 -0500
From:   Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>
To:     Tomer Maimon <tmaimon77@...il.com>
Cc:     Brendan Higgins <brendanhiggins@...gle.com>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Russell King - ARM Linux <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        Avi Fishman <avifishman70@...il.com>,
        Rick Altherr <raltherr@...gle.com>,
        Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        devicetree <devicetree@...r.kernel.org>,
        Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        "linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org" 
        <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
        OpenBMC Maillist <openbmc@...ts.ozlabs.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v6 2/3] arm: dts: add Nuvoton NPCM750 device tree

On Sun, Oct 29, 2017 at 3:33 PM, Tomer Maimon <tmaimon77@...il.com> wrote:
> On 20 September 2017 at 00:40, Brendan Higgins
> <brendanhiggins@...gle.com> wrote:
>> Add a common device tree for all Nuvoton NPCM750 BMCs and a board
>> specific device tree for the NPCM750 (Poleg) evaluation board.
>>

>> +                       timer0: timer@...00000 {
>> +                               compatible = "nuvoton,npcm750-timer";
>> +                               interrupts = <0 32 4>;
>> +                               reg = <0xf0000000 0x1000>;
>> +                               clocks = <&clk NPCM7XX_CLK_TIMER>;
>> +                       };
>
> I started the upstream process of NPCM7xx clocksource driver, I got
> the following comment:
> https://www.spinics.net/lists/devicetree/msg197916.html
>
> Is it possible to modify the the timer DT entry to:
>
> timer0: timer@...08000 {
>         compatible = "nuvoton,npcm7xx-timer";

Please don't. Using 750 is correct. Using 7xx (i.e. wildcards) is not.

If there's subsequent SoCs with the same block, then you can do:
'"nuvoton,npcm760-timer", "nuvoton,npcm750-timer"'.

Rob

Powered by blists - more mailing lists