lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 2 Nov 2017 10:49:19 -0700
From:   Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>
To:     David Daney <ddaney@...iumnetworks.com>,
        Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>,
        David Daney <david.daney@...ium.com>
Cc:     linux-mips@...ux-mips.org, ralf@...ux-mips.org,
        James Hogan <james.hogan@...s.com>, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        "Steven J. Hill" <steven.hill@...ium.com>,
        devicetree@...r.kernel.org, Carlos Munoz <cmunoz@...ium.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 3/7] MIPS: Octeon: Add a global resource manager.

On 11/02/2017 09:03 AM, David Daney wrote:
> On 11/02/2017 05:23 AM, Andrew Lunn wrote:
>>> +static void res_mgr_lock(void)
>>> +{
>>> +    unsigned int tmp;
>>> +    u64 lock = (u64)&res_mgr_info->rlock;
>>> +
>>> +    __asm__ __volatile__(
>>> +        ".set noreorder\n"
>>> +        "1: ll   %[tmp], 0(%[addr])\n"
>>> +        "   bnez %[tmp], 1b\n"
>>> +        "   li   %[tmp], 1\n"
>>> +        "   sc   %[tmp], 0(%[addr])\n"
>>> +        "   beqz %[tmp], 1b\n"
>>> +        "   nop\n"
>>> +        ".set reorder\n" :
>>> +        [tmp] "=&r"(tmp) :
>>> +        [addr] "r"(lock) :
>>> +        "memory");
>>> +}
>>> +
>>> +static void res_mgr_unlock(void)
>>> +{
>>> +    u64 lock = (u64)&res_mgr_info->rlock;
>>> +
>>> +    /* Wait until all resource operations finish before unlocking. */
>>> +    mb();
>>> +    __asm__ __volatile__(
>>> +        "sw $0, 0(%[addr])\n" : :
>>> +        [addr] "r"(lock) :
>>> +        "memory");
>>> +
>>> +    /* Force a write buffer flush. */
>>> +    mb();
>>> +}
>>
>> It would be good to add some justification for using your own locks,
>> rather than standard linux locks.
> 
> Yes, I will add that.
> 
> 
>>
>> Is there anything specific to your hardware in this resource manager?
>> I'm just wondering if this should be generic, put somewhere in lib. Or
>> maybe there is already something generic, and you should be using it,
>> not re-inventing the wheel again.
> 
> The systems built around this hardware may have other software running
> on CPUs that are not running the Linux kernel.  The data structures used
> to arbitrate usage of shared system hardware resources use exactly these
> locking primitives, so they cannot be changed to use the Linux locking
> implementation de jour.

Would hwspinlock be a possible option so this is abstracted on the Linux
side using these locking primitives through the hwspinlock layer which
in turn does exactly what is above?
-- 
Florian

Powered by blists - more mailing lists