lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri,  3 Nov 2017 13:04:51 -0400
From:   Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@...lanox.com>
To:     Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Rik van Riel <riel@...hat.com>, Tejun Heo <tj@...nel.org>,
        Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@...il.com>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,
        Christoph Lameter <cl@...ux.com>,
        Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@...aro.org>,
        Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
        Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>,
        Andy Lutomirski <luto@...capital.net>,
        Daniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@...aro.org>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@....com>,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Cc:     Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@...lanox.com>
Subject: [PATCH v16 12/13] arm, tile: turn off timer tick for oneshot_stopped state

When the schedule tick is disabled in tick_nohz_stop_sched_tick(),
we call hrtimer_cancel(), which eventually calls down into
__remove_hrtimer() and thus into hrtimer_force_reprogram().
That function's call to tick_program_event() detects that
we are trying to set the expiration to KTIME_MAX and calls
clockevents_switch_state() to set the state to ONESHOT_STOPPED,
and returns.  See commit 8fff52fd5093 ("clockevents: Introduce
CLOCK_EVT_STATE_ONESHOT_STOPPED state") for more background.

However, by default the internal __clockevents_switch_state() code
doesn't have a "set_state_oneshot_stopped" function pointer for
the arm_arch_timer or tile clock_event_device structures, so that
code returns -ENOSYS, and we end up not setting the state, and more
importantly, we don't actually turn off the hardware timer.
As a result, the timer tick we were waiting for before is still
queued, and fires shortly afterwards, only to discover there was
nothing for it to do, at which point it quiesces.

The fix is to provide that function pointer field, and like the
other function pointers, have it just turn off the timer interrupt.
Any call to set a new timer interval will properly re-enable it.

This fix avoids a small performance hiccup for regular applications,
but for TASK_ISOLATION code, it fixes a potentially serious
kernel timer interruption to the time-sensitive application.

Signed-off-by: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@...lanox.com>
Acked-by: Daniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@...aro.org>
---
 arch/tile/kernel/time.c              | 1 +
 drivers/clocksource/arm_arch_timer.c | 2 ++
 2 files changed, 3 insertions(+)

diff --git a/arch/tile/kernel/time.c b/arch/tile/kernel/time.c
index f74f10d827fa..afca6fe496c8 100644
--- a/arch/tile/kernel/time.c
+++ b/arch/tile/kernel/time.c
@@ -163,6 +163,7 @@ static DEFINE_PER_CPU(struct clock_event_device, tile_timer) = {
 	.set_next_event = tile_timer_set_next_event,
 	.set_state_shutdown = tile_timer_shutdown,
 	.set_state_oneshot = tile_timer_shutdown,
+	.set_state_oneshot_stopped = tile_timer_shutdown,
 	.tick_resume = tile_timer_shutdown,
 };
 
diff --git a/drivers/clocksource/arm_arch_timer.c b/drivers/clocksource/arm_arch_timer.c
index fd4b7f684bd0..61ea7f907c56 100644
--- a/drivers/clocksource/arm_arch_timer.c
+++ b/drivers/clocksource/arm_arch_timer.c
@@ -722,6 +722,8 @@ static void __arch_timer_setup(unsigned type,
 		}
 	}
 
+	clk->set_state_oneshot_stopped = clk->set_state_shutdown;
+
 	clk->set_state_shutdown(clk);
 
 	clockevents_config_and_register(clk, arch_timer_rate, 0xf, 0x7fffffff);
-- 
2.1.2

Powered by blists - more mailing lists