lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri,  3 Nov 2017 20:53:52 +0100
From:   Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>
To:     Jani Nikula <jani.nikula@...ux.intel.com>,
        Joonas Lahtinen <joonas.lahtinen@...ux.intel.com>,
        Rodrigo Vivi <rodrigo.vivi@...el.com>,
        David Airlie <airlied@...ux.ie>
Cc:     Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
        Chris Wilson <chris@...is-wilson.co.uk>,
        Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@...ll.ch>,
        Tvrtko Ursulin <tvrtko.ursulin@...el.com>,
        Ville Syrjälä 
        <ville.syrjala@...ux.intel.com>,
        Robert Bragg <robert@...bynine.org>,
        Mahesh Kumar <mahesh1.kumar@...el.com>,
        Michal Wajdeczko <michal.wajdeczko@...el.com>,
        Matthew Auld <matthew.auld@...el.com>,
        Mika Kuoppala <mika.kuoppala@...ux.intel.com>,
        intel-gfx@...ts.freedesktop.org, dri-devel@...ts.freedesktop.org,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH] drm: i915: remove timeval users

struct timeval is deprecated because it cannot represent times
past 2038. In this driver, the only use of this structure is
to capture debug information. This is easily changed to ktime_t,
which we then format as needed when printing it later.

Signed-off-by: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>
---
 drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_drv.h       |  6 +++---
 drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_gpu_error.c | 25 ++++++++++++++-----------
 2 files changed, 17 insertions(+), 14 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_drv.h b/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_drv.h
index 72bb5b51035a..a407c673dd10 100644
--- a/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_drv.h
+++ b/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_drv.h
@@ -896,9 +896,9 @@ struct intel_display_error_state;
 
 struct i915_gpu_state {
 	struct kref ref;
-	struct timeval time;
-	struct timeval boottime;
-	struct timeval uptime;
+	ktime_t time;
+	ktime_t boottime;
+	ktime_t uptime;
 
 	struct drm_i915_private *i915;
 
diff --git a/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_gpu_error.c b/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_gpu_error.c
index 653fb69e7ecb..65f781e3b63f 100644
--- a/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_gpu_error.c
+++ b/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_gpu_error.c
@@ -594,6 +594,7 @@ int i915_error_state_to_str(struct drm_i915_error_state_buf *m,
 {
 	struct drm_i915_private *dev_priv = m->i915;
 	struct drm_i915_error_object *obj;
+	struct timespec64 ts;
 	int i, j;
 
 	if (!error) {
@@ -604,12 +605,15 @@ int i915_error_state_to_str(struct drm_i915_error_state_buf *m,
 	if (*error->error_msg)
 		err_printf(m, "%s\n", error->error_msg);
 	err_printf(m, "Kernel: " UTS_RELEASE "\n");
-	err_printf(m, "Time: %ld s %ld us\n",
-		   error->time.tv_sec, error->time.tv_usec);
-	err_printf(m, "Boottime: %ld s %ld us\n",
-		   error->boottime.tv_sec, error->boottime.tv_usec);
-	err_printf(m, "Uptime: %ld s %ld us\n",
-		   error->uptime.tv_sec, error->uptime.tv_usec);
+	ts = ktime_to_timespec64(error->time);
+	err_printf(m, "Time: %lld s %ld us\n",
+		   (s64)ts.tv_sec, ts.tv_nsec / NSEC_PER_USEC);
+	ts = ktime_to_timespec64(error->boottime);
+	err_printf(m, "Boottime: %lld s %ld us\n",
+		   (s64)ts.tv_sec, ts.tv_nsec / NSEC_PER_USEC);
+	ts = ktime_to_timespec64(error->uptime);
+	err_printf(m, "Uptime: %lld s %ld us\n",
+		   (s64)ts.tv_sec, ts.tv_nsec / NSEC_PER_USEC);
 
 	for (i = 0; i < ARRAY_SIZE(error->engine); i++) {
 		if (error->engine[i].hangcheck_stalled &&
@@ -1699,11 +1703,10 @@ static int capture(void *data)
 {
 	struct i915_gpu_state *error = data;
 
-	do_gettimeofday(&error->time);
-	error->boottime = ktime_to_timeval(ktime_get_boottime());
-	error->uptime =
-		ktime_to_timeval(ktime_sub(ktime_get(),
-					   error->i915->gt.last_init_time));
+	error->time = ktime_get_real();
+	error->boottime = ktime_get_boottime();
+	error->uptime = ktime_sub(ktime_get(),
+				  error->i915->gt.last_init_time);
 
 	error->params = i915_modparams;
 #define DUP(T, x, ...) dup_param(#T, &error->params.x);
-- 
2.9.0

Powered by blists - more mailing lists