lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 8 Nov 2017 16:02:22 -0800
From:   Andi Kleen <ak@...ux.intel.com>
To:     Yury Norov <ynorov@...iumnetworks.com>
Cc:     Sami Tolvanen <samitolvanen@...gle.com>,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
        Greg Hackmann <ghackmann@...gle.com>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Matthias Kaehlcke <mka@...omium.org>,
        Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>,
        Maxim Kuvyrkov <maxim.kuvyrkov@...aro.org>,
        Alex Matveev <alxmtvv@...il.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 13/15] arm64: fix mrs_s/msr_s macros for clang LTO

> There's the series from Andi Kleen that enables LTO for Linux on x86:
> https://lwn.net/Articles/512548/
> https://github.com/andikleen/linux-misc/tree/lto-411-1
> 
> It has solved many problems you also try to solve, and some patches
> are looking very similar. 
> 
> At now we have different patchsets for gcc and clang, and it would be
> better to have them together. One thing I'm worried is that you introduce
> CONFIG_CLANG_LTO and use it for all cases, including that where more
> generic CONFIG_LTO should be used.

Yes would be good to merge the two. I've been looking at updating
my old one.

I don't cover any ARM code, but lots of generic code. My patches
also worked on MIPS at least.

There's also older patches to enable single-pass-linking for kallsyms,
which is extremly useful for LTO build performance.

-Andi

Powered by blists - more mailing lists