lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 9 Nov 2017 11:58:14 +1100
From:   "Tobin C. Harding" <me@...in.cc>
To:     Greg KH <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>
Cc:     Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>,
        Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>,
        "Jason A. Donenfeld" <Jason@...c4.com>,
        Theodore Ts'o <tytso@....edu>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
        Tycho Andersen <tycho@...ker.com>,
        "Roberts, William C" <william.c.roberts@...el.com>,
        Tejun Heo <tj@...nel.org>,
        Jordan Glover <Golden_Miller83@...tonmail.ch>,
        Joe Perches <joe@...ches.com>,
        Ian Campbell <ijc@...lion.org.uk>,
        Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@...il.com>,
        Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
        Will Deacon <wilal.deacon@....com>,
        Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
        Chris Fries <cfries@...gle.com>,
        Dave Weinstein <olorin@...gle.com>,
        Daniel Micay <danielmicay@...il.com>,
        Djalal Harouni <tixxdz@...il.com>,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        Network Development <netdev@...r.kernel.org>,
        David Miller <davem@...emloft.net>,
        kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com,
        "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,
        Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 5/7] scripts/leaking_addresses: add emailing results

On Wed, Nov 08, 2017 at 12:51:20PM +0100, Greg KH wrote:
> On Wed, Nov 08, 2017 at 11:16:43AM +0100, Petr Mladek wrote:
> > On Wed 2017-11-08 14:37:37, Tobin C. Harding wrote:
> > > Developers may not have the time (or inclination) to investigate script
> > > output. This information is, however, useful. If we add functionality to
> > > the script to email results for further investigation.
> > > 
> > > Add --send-report flag to email scan results (to Tobin C. Harding).
> > 
> > I am not sure that it is wise to make spaming one person
> > so easy ;-)
> 
> I agree, I would strongly discourage this, as you will end up getting
> reports from really old kernels for the next 20+ years.  We have seen
> that happen for every time we have added a "report this to foo@baz" in a
> kernel log message.
> 
> If you _really_ want to do this, at least point it at a mailing list.

Will remove --send-report for next version.

thanks,
Tobin.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists