lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 22 Nov 2017 16:34:59 -0800
From:   Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...ux.intel.com>
To:     linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Cc:     linux-mm@...ck.org, dave.hansen@...ux.intel.com,
        moritz.lipp@...k.tugraz.at, daniel.gruss@...k.tugraz.at,
        michael.schwarz@...k.tugraz.at, richard.fellner@...dent.tugraz.at,
        luto@...nel.org, torvalds@...ux-foundation.org,
        keescook@...gle.com, hughd@...gle.com, x86@...nel.org
Subject: [PATCH 11/23] x86, kaiser: map entry stack variables


From: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...ux.intel.com>

There are times where the kernel is entered but there is not a
safe stack, like at SYSCALL entry.  To obtain a safe stack, the
per-cpu variables 'rsp_scratch' and 'cpu_current_top_of_stack'
are used to save the old %rsp value and to find where the kernel
stack should start.

You can not directly manipulate the CR3 register.  You can only
'MOV' to it from another register, which means a register must be
clobbered in order to do any CR3 manipulation.  User-mapping
these variables allows us to obtain a safe stack and use it for
temporary storage *before* CR3 is switched.

Signed-off-by: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...ux.intel.com>
Cc: Moritz Lipp <moritz.lipp@...k.tugraz.at>
Cc: Daniel Gruss <daniel.gruss@...k.tugraz.at>
Cc: Michael Schwarz <michael.schwarz@...k.tugraz.at>
Cc: Richard Fellner <richard.fellner@...dent.tugraz.at>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@...gle.com>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@...gle.com>
Cc: x86@...nel.org
---

 b/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/common.c |    2 +-
 b/arch/x86/kernel/process_64.c |    2 +-
 2 files changed, 2 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff -puN arch/x86/kernel/cpu/common.c~kaiser-user-map-stack-helper-vars arch/x86/kernel/cpu/common.c
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/common.c~kaiser-user-map-stack-helper-vars	2017-11-22 15:45:50.128619736 -0800
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/common.c	2017-11-22 15:45:50.134619736 -0800
@@ -1524,7 +1524,7 @@ EXPORT_PER_CPU_SYMBOL(__preempt_count);
  * the top of the kernel stack.  Use an extra percpu variable to track the
  * top of the kernel stack directly.
  */
-DEFINE_PER_CPU(unsigned long, cpu_current_top_of_stack) =
+DEFINE_PER_CPU_USER_MAPPED(unsigned long, cpu_current_top_of_stack) =
 	(unsigned long)&init_thread_union + THREAD_SIZE;
 EXPORT_PER_CPU_SYMBOL(cpu_current_top_of_stack);
 
diff -puN arch/x86/kernel/process_64.c~kaiser-user-map-stack-helper-vars arch/x86/kernel/process_64.c
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/process_64.c~kaiser-user-map-stack-helper-vars	2017-11-22 15:45:50.130619736 -0800
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/process_64.c	2017-11-22 15:45:50.134619736 -0800
@@ -59,7 +59,7 @@
 #include <asm/unistd_32_ia32.h>
 #endif
 
-__visible DEFINE_PER_CPU(unsigned long, rsp_scratch);
+__visible DEFINE_PER_CPU_USER_MAPPED(unsigned long, rsp_scratch);
 
 /* Prints also some state that isn't saved in the pt_regs */
 void __show_regs(struct pt_regs *regs, int all)
_

Powered by blists - more mailing lists