lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 22 Nov 2017 16:35:18 -0800
From:   Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...ux.intel.com>
To:     linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Cc:     linux-mm@...ck.org, dave.hansen@...ux.intel.com,
        moritz.lipp@...k.tugraz.at, daniel.gruss@...k.tugraz.at,
        michael.schwarz@...k.tugraz.at, richard.fellner@...dent.tugraz.at,
        luto@...nel.org, torvalds@...ux-foundation.org,
        keescook@...gle.com, hughd@...gle.com, x86@...nel.org
Subject: [PATCH 20/23] x86, kaiser: add a function to check for KAISER being enabled


From: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...ux.intel.com>

Currently, all of the checks for KAISER are compile-time checks.

Runtime checks are needed for turning it on/off at runtime.

Add a function to do that.

Signed-off-by: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...ux.intel.com>
Cc: Moritz Lipp <moritz.lipp@...k.tugraz.at>
Cc: Daniel Gruss <daniel.gruss@...k.tugraz.at>
Cc: Michael Schwarz <michael.schwarz@...k.tugraz.at>
Cc: Richard Fellner <richard.fellner@...dent.tugraz.at>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@...gle.com>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@...gle.com>
Cc: x86@...nel.org
---

 b/arch/x86/include/asm/kaiser.h |    5 +++++
 b/include/linux/kaiser.h        |    5 +++++
 2 files changed, 10 insertions(+)

diff -puN arch/x86/include/asm/kaiser.h~kaiser-dynamic-check-func arch/x86/include/asm/kaiser.h
--- a/arch/x86/include/asm/kaiser.h~kaiser-dynamic-check-func	2017-11-22 15:45:55.262619723 -0800
+++ b/arch/x86/include/asm/kaiser.h	2017-11-22 15:45:55.267619723 -0800
@@ -56,6 +56,11 @@ extern void kaiser_remove_mapping(unsign
  */
 extern void kaiser_init(void);
 
+static inline bool kaiser_active(void)
+{
+	extern int kaiser_enabled;
+	return kaiser_enabled;
+}
 #endif
 
 #endif /* __ASSEMBLY__ */
diff -puN include/linux/kaiser.h~kaiser-dynamic-check-func include/linux/kaiser.h
--- a/include/linux/kaiser.h~kaiser-dynamic-check-func	2017-11-22 15:45:55.264619723 -0800
+++ b/include/linux/kaiser.h	2017-11-22 15:45:55.268619723 -0800
@@ -28,5 +28,10 @@ static inline int kaiser_add_mapping(uns
 static inline void kaiser_add_mapping_cpu_entry(int cpu)
 {
 }
+
+static inline bool kaiser_active(void)
+{
+	return 0;
+}
 #endif /* !CONFIG_KAISER */
 #endif /* _INCLUDE_KAISER_H */
_

Powered by blists - more mailing lists