lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 23 Nov 2017 10:56:19 +0100
From:   Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@...aro.org>
To:     Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@...el.com>
Cc:     Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@...aro.org>,
        linux-mmc <linux-mmc@...r.kernel.org>,
        linux-block <linux-block@...r.kernel.org>,
        linux-kernel <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Bough Chen <haibo.chen@....com>,
        Alex Lemberg <alex.lemberg@...disk.com>,
        Mateusz Nowak <mateusz.nowak@...el.com>,
        Yuliy Izrailov <Yuliy.Izrailov@...disk.com>,
        Jaehoon Chung <jh80.chung@...sung.com>,
        Dong Aisheng <dongas86@...il.com>,
        Das Asutosh <asutoshd@...eaurora.org>,
        Zhangfei Gao <zhangfei.gao@...il.com>,
        Sahitya Tummala <stummala@...eaurora.org>,
        Harjani Ritesh <riteshh@...eaurora.org>,
        Venu Byravarasu <vbyravarasu@...dia.com>,
        Shawn Lin <shawn.lin@...k-chips.com>,
        Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz <b.zolnierkie@...sung.com>,
        Christoph Hellwig <hch@....de>
Subject: Re: [PATCH V14 02/24] mmc: block: Check return value of blk_get_request()

On Tue, Nov 21, 2017 at 2:42 PM, Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@...el.com> wrote:

> blk_get_request() can fail, always check the return value.
>
> Fixes: 0493f6fe5bde ("mmc: block: Move boot partition locking into a driver op")
> Fixes: 3ecd8cf23f88 ("mmc: block: move multi-ioctl() to use block layer")
> Fixes: 614f0388f580 ("mmc: block: move single ioctl() commands to block requests")
> Fixes: 627c3ccfb46a ("mmc: debugfs: Move block debugfs into block module")
> Signed-off-by: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@...el.com>

Reviewed-by: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@...aro.org>
This should also go into fixes I think.

I guess this particular sloppiness was due to modeling the code on
drivers/ide/* which doesn't check the return value either.

I should go and fix that :/

Yours,
Linus Walleij

Powered by blists - more mailing lists