lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 29 Nov 2017 13:05:05 +1100
From:   "Tobin C. Harding" <me@...in.cc>
To:     kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com
Cc:     "Tobin C. Harding" <me@...in.cc>,
        Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>,
        "Jason A. Donenfeld" <Jason@...c4.com>,
        Theodore Ts'o <tytso@....edu>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
        Tycho Andersen <tycho@...ho.ws>,
        "Roberts, William C" <william.c.roberts@...el.com>,
        Tejun Heo <tj@...nel.org>,
        Jordan Glover <Golden_Miller83@...tonmail.ch>,
        Greg KH <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>, Joe Perches <joe@...ches.com>,
        Ian Campbell <ijc@...lion.org.uk>,
        Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@...il.com>,
        Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
        Will Deacon <wilal.deacon@....com>,
        Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
        Chris Fries <cfries@...gle.com>,
        Dave Weinstein <olorin@...gle.com>,
        Daniel Micay <danielmicay@...il.com>,
        Djalal Harouni <tixxdz@...il.com>,
        Radim Krčmář <rkrcmar@...hat.com>,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        Network Development <netdev@...r.kernel.org>,
        David Miller <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Stephen Rothwell <sfr@...b.auug.org.au>,
        Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@...tuozzo.com>,
        Alexander Potapenko <glider@...gle.com>,
        Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@...gle.com>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>
Subject: [PATCH V11 5/5] kasan: use %px to print addresses instead of %p

Pointers printed with %p are now hashed by default. Kasan needs the
actual address. We can use the new printk specifier %px for this
purpose.

Use %px instead of %p to print addresses.

Signed-off-by: Tobin C. Harding <me@...in.cc>
---
 mm/kasan/report.c | 8 ++++----
 1 file changed, 4 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)

diff --git a/mm/kasan/report.c b/mm/kasan/report.c
index 6bcfb01ba038..410c8235e671 100644
--- a/mm/kasan/report.c
+++ b/mm/kasan/report.c
@@ -134,7 +134,7 @@ static void print_error_description(struct kasan_access_info *info)
 
 	pr_err("BUG: KASAN: %s in %pS\n",
 		bug_type, (void *)info->ip);
-	pr_err("%s of size %zu at addr %p by task %s/%d\n",
+	pr_err("%s of size %zu at addr %px by task %s/%d\n",
 		info->is_write ? "Write" : "Read", info->access_size,
 		info->access_addr, current->comm, task_pid_nr(current));
 }
@@ -206,7 +206,7 @@ static void describe_object_addr(struct kmem_cache *cache, void *object,
 	const char *rel_type;
 	int rel_bytes;
 
-	pr_err("The buggy address belongs to the object at %p\n"
+	pr_err("The buggy address belongs to the object at %px\n"
 	       " which belongs to the cache %s of size %d\n",
 		object, cache->name, cache->object_size);
 
@@ -225,7 +225,7 @@ static void describe_object_addr(struct kmem_cache *cache, void *object,
 	}
 
 	pr_err("The buggy address is located %d bytes %s of\n"
-	       " %d-byte region [%p, %p)\n",
+	       " %d-byte region [%px, %px)\n",
 		rel_bytes, rel_type, cache->object_size, (void *)object_addr,
 		(void *)(object_addr + cache->object_size));
 }
@@ -302,7 +302,7 @@ static void print_shadow_for_address(const void *addr)
 		char shadow_buf[SHADOW_BYTES_PER_ROW];
 
 		snprintf(buffer, sizeof(buffer),
-			(i == 0) ? ">%p: " : " %p: ", kaddr);
+			(i == 0) ? ">%px: " : " %px: ", kaddr);
 		/*
 		 * We should not pass a shadow pointer to generic
 		 * function, because generic functions may try to
-- 
2.7.4

Powered by blists - more mailing lists